Skip to Main Content
SUNY OLIS logoSUNY Office of Library and Information Systems (OLIS) Home Page
 

SUNY Library Services (SLS)

SUNY Collections

The SLS offers a number of collections services for SUNY campuses:

  • Shared collections management
  • Shared licensing and procurement
  • Professional development opportunities

Collections available for all SUNY libraries are listed below. SLS maintains contracts for a number of other resources. For more information submit a ticket or visit the Collections Portal.

Shared Electronic Resources

SUNY-wide subscriptions to databases spanning the academic disciplines allow for significantly greater library resource access than what would be available to the individual libraries.

The following databases are available to all SUNY libraries through SUNYConnect:

  • Academic Video Online (AVON): Managed in the Alma Network Zone
  • EBSCO:
    • Academic Search Alumni Edition
    • Academic Search Complete
    • American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1-5
    • Applied Science & Technology Source
    • Associated Press Newswire (formerly AP NewsMonitor Collection (AP, UPI, etc.))
    • Business Source Alumni Edition
    • Business Source Complete
    • CINAHL Plus with Full text
    • Diversity and Ethic Studies eBook Subscription Collection
    • eBook Collection: titles formerly housed on NetLibrary platform
    • Education Source
    • Environment Complete
    • ERIC
    • European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 (freely available)
    • Greenfile
    • Health Source - Consumer Edition
    • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
    • Humanities Source
    • LGBTQ+ Source (formerly LGBT Life with Full Text)
    • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text
    • MasterFILE Premier
    • MEDLINE with Full Text
    • Military & Government Collection
    • Newspaper Source Plus
    • Points of View Reference Center
    • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
    • Regional and Business News
    • Social Sciences Full Text
    • Teacher Reference Center
  • Gale:
    • Lit Finder
    • Literature Resource Center
    • Virtual Reference Library: contract covers the annual access fee so that campuses can add e-book purchases
  • Elsevier ScienceDirect: Core package managed in Network Zone, Perpetual Access managed in campus Institution Zones
  • HarpWeek (ProQuest)


The following databases have been removed from the SUNYConnect package:

EBSCO:

  • Alt HealthWatch (July 2022)
  • Associates Programs Source (July 2022)
  • Canadian Reference Centre (July 2020)
  • Computer Source (July 2022)
  • Energy and Power Source (July 2022)
  • Entrepreneurial Studies Source (July 2022)
  • Fuente Academica Plus (July 2022)
  • Professional Development Collection (July 2020)
  • Religion and Philosophy Collection (July 2022)
  • Vocational and Career Collection (July 2022)

NOVEL

NOVELny provides eResources to all New York residents.

Current databases include:

  • Britannica Academic
  • Gale:
    • Academic OneFile
    • Academic OneFile Select
    • Business: Insights
    • General OneFile
    • Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
    • Gale OneFile: Computer Science
    • Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete
    • Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
    • Gale OneFile: Informe Académico
    • Gale OneFile: News
    • The New York Times