Skip to Main Content
 

Repositories Knowledge Base

Glossary

Accepted manuscript

Author's original version

  •  The un-refereed author version of an article completed before submission of the article to the journal
  •  https://academic.oup.com/journals/pages/self_archiving_policy_a
  •  Synonyms: pre-print, submitted manuscript, e-print

Batch load import*

Bitstream

  • In the context of SOAR, a bitstream is a document (i.e., full-text PDF) associated with an item in a repository.
  • https://wiki.lyrasis.org/display/DSDOC4x/Functional+Overview

CreativeCommons

    Standardized way to grant copyright permission, https://creativecommons.org/

  •     BY (CC): Credit must be given to the creator
  •     CC No-derivatives (ND): No adaptations of work may be created
  •     CC Non-commercial (NC): The work may not be used for commercial purposes
  •     CC Share Alike (SA): Adaptations must be shared under the same terms as applied to the original work
  •     CC0: Work is in the public domain, no license is applied

Collection*

A group of items in within a communities. Functionally, it is the most specific grouping - a collection will be added to the community when there are no more sub-groupings e.g., Doctoral Degree Granting Institutions (community) > Upstate Medical University (community) > College of Graduate Studies (Community) > Scholarly Publications by Department (Community) > Cell and Developmental Biology (collection).

Community (and Sub-community)*

CrossRef

CSV validation*

Document Object Identifier (DOI)

Dublin Core (dc) Metadata Element Set

E-print

  • The un-refereed author version of an article completed before submission of the article to the journal
  • https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ArXiv
  • Synonyms: pre-print, submitted manuscript, author's original version

Gold open access

Green open access

Institutional repository (IR)

Metadata

Open access

  • The free, immediate, online availability of research articles coupled with the rights to use these articles fully in the digital environment.
  •  https://sparcopen.org/open-access/

OpenRepository

PMID, PMCID

Post print

Pre-print

Published version

PubMed

    Database of citations from biomedical literature from the NIH

    https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/

PubMed Central

Self-archive

  • Depositing a free copy of an electronic document online in order to provide open access to it. Submitting works to SOAR is an example of self-archiving. Also called "green open access." Self-archiving may be done in an institutional repository, a disciplinary archive, general archive (i.e., arXiv), the author's website, etc.,
  • https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Self-archiving

Sherpa Romeo

SimpeArchiveFormat*

UTF-8

Version of record

XLS import forms*

  • Available to SOAR administrators. The import forms dictate how the submission process takes place. This is where fields in the submission forms are added or subtracted, option lists are managed, etc.
  • https://soar.suny.edu/admin/xlsupload (login required)

Zip Upload

  • Available to SOAR administrators.  Method for importing multiple full-text documents to SOAR. This file must be uploaded before the metadata file (.csv or zipped .saf) is uploaded.
  • https://soar.suny.edu/zip-upload (login required)

--------

* Specific to DSpace / OpenRepository