Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Alma Resource Management

Working with the Metadata Editor in the Institution and Network Zones. Includes indication and normalization rules.

Searching External Resources

The Search Resources functionality in the MD Editor allows cataloger to import bib records from a list of configured external resources. Searching external resources searches for bib records from external resources outside of the SUNY consortia. 

It is important if to configure External Resources to match how they are being imported and merging to the Network Zone (NZ) if they are being used to import records to the NZ. If Search Resources is being used to import record to both zones, external resources should be configured to match how records are imported to the NZ.

The Search Resources functionality in the MD Editor also allows catalogers the ability to search internal resources from the MD Editor. Search profiles need to be configured to allow catalogers the ability to search the Institution, Network, or Community Zone for bib records.

 

Below are some of the possible search resources that can be configured to be searched in the MD Editor:

External Resources:

Internal Resources:

  • Institution Zone (IZ)
  • Network Zone (NZ)
  • Community Zone (CZ)

Steps to Configure External/Internal Search Resources In the Md Editor

Steps to Configure External Search Resources:

  1. Configure External Search Resources
  2. Configure Search Profile

Steps to Configure Internal Search Resources:

  1. Configure Search Profile

Configuring External Search Resources

To be able to configure External Search Resources you need one of the following roles:

  • Catalog Administrator
  • General System Administrator

It is important if to configure External Resources to match how they are being imported to the Network Zone (NZ) if they are being used to import records to the NZ. If Search Resources is being used to import record to both zones, external resources should be configured to match how records are imported to the NZ.

The SUNY Normalization Rule that should be copied to the Institution Zone (IZ) is called: SUNY OCLC Import Normalization Rule. The "SUNY Overlay All But Local Fields" merge rule should be used as well. The following FAQ provides the steps to copy the normalization rule and create a normalization process. Note that the norm rule will have the name of the Normalization Process name when it was created: https://slcny.libanswers.com/faq/280352

To Configure Search External Resources:

  1. Go to Configuration>Resources>Search Configuration>Search External Resources
  2. Click Add External Resource
  3. Input Search Parameters
    1. Search by Name or Access Type separately for the best results
  4. Click Find Resources
  5. Click Select Resource from the ellipses of the external resource
  6. Populate the form
    1. Resource Name - is auto-populated 
    2. Normalization Process - select SUNY OCLC Import Normalization Rule
    3. Merge Method - select SUNY Overlay All But Local Fields
    4. Credentials - type in the username and password for the resource in XML using this pattern: <username>/<password>
  7. Click Save

 

To Edit An Existing Search External Resource To Add SUNY Normalization and Merge Rules:

  1. Go to Configuration>Resources>Search Configuration>Search External Resources
  2. Click Add External Resource
  3. Click Edit from the ellipses of the desired external resource>
  4. From the drop-down menu change:
    1. SUNY OCLC Import Normalization Rule
    2. Merge Method: SUNY Overlay All But Local Fields
  5. Click Save

Configuring Search Profiles For External Resources

  1. Go to Configuration>Resources>Search Configuration>Search Profile
  2. Click Add Search Profile
  3. Search Profiles Details screen opens
    1. Name - name the Search Profile (this name Appears in Search Resources)
    2. Description - add a description
  4. Click Next
  5. Click in the check boxes next to the desired zones under External Resource Pool 
  6. Click Add to Selection
     
  7. Click Save

Configuring Search Profiles For Internal Resources

  1. Go to Configuration>Resources>Search Configuration>Search Profile
  2. Click Add Search Profile
  3. Search Profiles Details screen opens
    1. Name - name the Search Profile (this name Appears in Search Resources)
    2. Description - add a description
  4. Click Next
  5. Click in the check boxes next to the desired zones under Internal Resource Pool 
  6. Click Add to Selection
     
  7. Click Save

Searching External Resources in the MD Editor Workflow

  1. Go to Resources>Cataloging>Open Metadata Editor
  2. Go to File>Options
    1. Select the Zone where the "Placement of new records and templates" will go if the bib record is imported
      1. Network - if the records is being added to the NZ
      2. Institution - if the record is being added to the IZ
    2. Click Save
  3. Click Tools>Search Resources
  4. Select the Search Profile from the drop-down list
  5. Edit the search parameters
    1. Tip: Using less fields and using unique identifiers produces the best results
  6. Click Search
  7. Matching record will display on the right-side if the mane pane in the MD Editor
  8. Click View on the record(s)
    1. Click Back if it is not the correct record, to view other records, or the record will not be imported
  9. Click Import (ONLY if the the External Resource has been configured to match the NZ) to import the record
  10. Click the Save icon (File>Save Record)
  11. Click Yes if there is a matching record 
  12. Follow the Merge Records and Combine Inventory workflow
    1. Click Edit from the matching record on the right-side of the MD Editor
    2. Review the bib record to make sure you want to Merge Record and Combine Inventory
      1. Bib records match on the OCLC number:
        1. Network Zone (NZ) matching records will have the same master bib record
        2. Institution Zone (IZ) matching records may have different bib records and contain distinctive local notes
    3. Click Tools>MARC Bibliographic>Merge Records and Combine Inventory
    4. Choose the Merge Rule:
      1. NZ records - use Overlay All Field But Local
      2. IZ records - select the merge rule that merges the IZ only records as desired
    5. Click Show Merge Preview to make sure the records merge as desired
    6. Update Holdings Call Number:
      1. NZ: keep unchecked
      2. IZ: check only if you want the holdings call number of the secondary record to be changed to the call number from the primary record
    7. Secondary Record: Delete
      1. Delete the secondary record or it will remain in the repository and continue to cause matches
    8. Click Ok
  13. Click File>Save and Release Record (Ctrl+Alt+R)
  14. Click Back (or < arrow)

Searching Internal Resources in the MD Editor Workflow

Searching Internal Resources in the MD Editor requires a record to be open in the MD Editor. The zone that is available for searching depend on what zones have been configured in the Search Profile(s).

Tabs with results will display for each zone that is configured in a search profile. Below is an example of a search profile that contains the Institution and Network Zone:

      

 

Search Internal Resources Workflow:

  1. Open a bib records in the MD Editor
  2. Click Tools>Search Resources
  3. Select the Internal Search Profile from the drop-down list
  4. Edit the search parameters
    1. Tip: Using less fields and using unique identifiers produces the best results
  5. Click Search
  6. Matching record will display on the right-side if the mane pane in the MD Editor under tabs for the zone(s) configured in the Search Profile
  7. Click View on the record(s)
    1. Click Back if it is not the correct record and/or to view other records
    2. Select Edit and click Execute to open the record in the MD Editor to merge or link to the NZ
  8. Click Import (ONLY if the the External Resource has been configured to match the NZ) to import the record
  9. Select the action to take on the record (workflows below)
    1. "Merge Records and Combine Inventory" can only be performed on records in the same zones 
    2. "Share With Network" can be used on IZ records you want to link to the NZ

 

"Merge Records and Combine Inventory" Workflow:

  1. Follow the Merge Records and Combine Inventory workflow
    1. Click Edit from the matching record on the right-side of the MD Editor
    2. Review the bib record to make sure you want to Merge Record and Combine Inventory
      1. Bib records match on the OCLC number:
        1. Network Zone (NZ) matching records will have the same master bib record
        2. Institution Zone (IZ) matching records may have different bib records and contain distinctive local notes
    3. Click Tools>MARC Bibliographic>Merge Records and Combine Inventory
    4. Choose the Merge Rule:
      1. NZ records - use Overlay All Field But Local
      2. IZ records - select the merge rule that merges the IZ only records as desired
    5. Click Show Merge Preview to make sure the records merge as desired
    6. Update Holdings Call Number:
      1. NZ: keep unchecked
      2. IZ: check only if you want the holdings call number of the secondary record to be changed to the call number from the primary record
    7. Secondary Record: Delete
      1. Delete the secondary record or it will remain in the repository and continue to cause matches
    8. Click Ok
  2. Click File>Save and Release Record (Ctrl+Alt+R)
  3. Click Back (or < arrow)

 

Share With Network Workflow For IZ Records Matching on NZ Records:

  1. Click Edit Record for the IZ bibliographic record that will be “shared” with the NZ from a repository search
  2. Make sure that there is an OCLC# in MARC field 035 before proceeding
    1. To add MARC field 035 with the OCLC#:
    2. Click Edit>Add Field
    3. Type in 035 _ _ $$a (OCoLC)#############
    4. Click the Save icon
  3. Click on the left-side of the main pane of the MD Editor
  4. Click File>Share with Network
  5. The IZ bibliographic record will be added to the NZ if no matching bibliographic record exists in the NZ 
    1. If the following message pops-up to step 5 otherwise the workflow is complete
      ;
  6.  Click Yes
    1. DO NOT click No. No will add the bib record to the NZ and it may create a duplicate OCLC record in the NZ.
  7. Click View to make sure it is the correct NZ record
  8. Click Back to Results after verifying it is the correct bib record
  9. Click Link
  10.  Click File>Save and Release Record (Ctrl+Alt+R)
    1. It will Save and Release the NZ bibliographic record on the right-side of the split screen editor that the IZ record has been linked to 
  11. Click Back (or arrow)
    1. The original IZ record will be left in the main pane of the MD Editor, but it no longer exists as an IZ only record