Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Alma Resource Management

Working with the Metadata Editor in the Institution and Network Zones. Includes indication and normalization rules.

Cataloging In A Shared Bibliographic Environment

With the migration to Alma in the Summer of 2019, SUNY libraries share a bibliographic environment called the Network Zone (NZ). The NZ was seeded from OCLC and the records in the NZ is determined by the accuracy of SUNY libraries' holdings. The OCLC records in the NZ are updated daily by OCLC import profiles for new bib records, updated bib records, and merged bib records. In SUNY:

  • All cataloging takes place in OCLC
  • All bibliographic records in the Network Zone (NZ) are required to have an OCLC in MARC field 035 $$a
  • OCLC numbers in Network Zone (NZ) records should not be overlaid/edited
     

MSP-1 defines OCLC as the primary bibliographic utility for SUNY

  • Members must use OCLC as their primary bibliographic utility
  • Members must use the OCLC record number as the primary match point when exporting records into Alma, except in cases where a SUNY policy has been established to use a different match point
  • The following types of bibliographic records are not required to contain OCLC record numbers or to have holdings set in OCLC (these exceptions should not be linked to the NZ):
    • records created for ordering purposes
    • personal-copy course reserves
    • titles borrowed on ILL from outside the SUNY system
    • inventory control of equipment o records representing titles in a knowledgebase
    • MARCIVE shipping list records
    • host bibliographic records for bound-withs
    • suppressed bibliographic records
    • record sets provided by vendors other than OCLC, including leased book sets

 

SUNY Policies Related to Working in a Shared Bibliographic Environment:

Editing an OCLC Master Record Workflow

Exporting a New Bib Record From OCLC to the Network Zone (NZ) Workflow

Exporting a New Bib Record from OCLC to the Institution Zone (IZ) Workflow

Exceptions defined in MSP-3 are the only bib records that are required to be exported from OCLC to the Institutions Zone (IZ). ebooks that are not in the Community Zone (CZ) should also be exported to the IZ to be ordered and activated.

The following are bib records that should reside in the IZ only:

  • Personal-copy course reserves
  • Titles borrowed on ILL from outside SUNY
  • Inventory control of equipment
  • Host bibliographic records for bound-withs
  • Suppressed bibliographic records
  • Vendor record sets that the library is not allowed to share

 

Prior to exporting the bib record to the IZ, Make sure the correct export is applied: 

  1. OCLC Connexion Client
    1. Go to Tools>Options
    2. Click on the Export tab
    3. Click on the Institution Zone OCLC Export Gateway Export (highlighted blue)
    4. Click Apply
    5. Click Close 
  2. OCLC Conexion Client Web Browser
    1. Click the General tab
    2. Click Admin
    3. Click Export Options
    4. Edit the following fields in the export profile:
      1.  Host name: change it to your institution host name, which contains your institutions 3-letter identifier. Example; suny-###.alma.exlibrisgroup.com
      2. Login ID: change it to your institutions login ID. Example; 01SUNY_###
      3. Password: change it to the password in your IZ OCLC integration profile in Alma
    5. Click Save for this Session

 

To export a bib record to the IZ:

  1. Open OCLC Connexion Client or Web Browser
  2. Search for the desired bib record
  3. Edit/enhance the maser bib record
    1. OCLC Connexion Client
      1. Click Action>Lock Record if the master record requires changes
      2. After editing the master record, click Action>Replace Record
    2. OCLC Connexion Client Web Browser
      1. Click Lock Record from the Action drop-down menu
      2. After editing the master record, click Save from the Action drop-down menu
  4. Export the bib record to the IZ
    1. OCLC Connexion Client
      1. Click on the export icon or go to Actions>Export (F5)
    2. OCLC Connexion Client Web Browser
      1. Click on the Action drop-down menu
      2. Select Export Record in MARC
  5. If the export is success you will receive a message
    1. OCLC Connexion Client export message with the IZ MMS ID ending with the institution 4-digit identifier     
    2. OCLC Connexion Client Web Brower message                                             

NOTE: Perform an All Titles search in Alma in order to find the newly exported bib record in the IZ. A physical titles search will not retrieve the newly exported bib record because there is no inventory attached to the bib record.

Overlay an Existing NZ Bib Record in Alma from OCLC Workflow

OCLC master records can be re-exported to update an existing NZ bib record by:

  1. A cataloger who has edited/enhanced the OCLC master record and would like to see the changes applied in the NZ 
  2. Daily by the OCLC import profiles for updated and merged OCLC master record

Prior to exporting the bib record to the NZ, Make sure the correct export is applied: 

  1. OCLC Connexion Client
    1. Go to Tools>Options
    2. Click on the Export tab
    3. Click on the Network Zone OCLC Export Gateway Export (highlighted blue)
    4. Click Apply
    5. Click Close 
  2. OCLC Conexion Client Web Browser
    1. Click the General tab
    2. Click Admin
    3. Click Export Options
    4. Edit the following fields in the export profile:
      1.  Host name: suny-network.alma.exlibrisgroup.com
      2. Login ID: 01SUNY_NETWORK
      3. Password:  type in the SUNY NZ export password
    5. Click Save for this Session

 

To overlay (re-export) an OCLC master record to Alma's NZ:

  1. Open OCLC Connexion Client or Web Browser
  2. Search for the desired bib record
  3. Edit/enhance the maser bib record
    1. OCLC Connexion Client
      1. Click Action>Lock Record if the master record requires changes
      2. After editing the master record, click Action>Replace Record
    2. OCLC Connexion Client Web Browser
      1. Click Lock Record from the Action drop-down menu
      2. After editing the master record, click Save from the Action drop-down menu
  4. Export the bib record to the NZ
    1. OCLC Connexion Client
      1. Click on the export icon or go to Actions>Export (F5)
    2. OCLC Connexion Client Web Browser
      1. Click on the Action drop-down menu
      2. Select Export Record in MARC
  5. If the export is success you will receive a message
    1. OCLC Connexion Client export message with the NZ MMS ID ending with 4801
    2. OCLC Connexion Client Web Browser                                                                                                                                                

 

NOTE: DO NOT edited an OCLC number in an existing bib record in the Network Zone. Instead, export the correct bib record from OCLC to the NZ. Only brief bib records created for ordering can be edited to add an OCLC number.

Overlay a Brief Bib from OCLC Connexion in the Old MD Editor

Overlay a Brief Bib from OCLC Connexion in the New MD Editor

Please make sure you follow this workflow when adding an OCLC # to a brief bib record that does not contain and OCLC number:

  1. Open the bib record in the MD Editor
  2. Click Editing Actions>Add Field
  3. Add the 035 field with the OCLC # as follows: 
    • 035 _ _ $$a (OCoLC)############
      • Indicators are empty and shown as _ _ to represent they are empty
      •  ########## represents the OCLC number
      • Full example: 035 _ _ $$a (OCoLC)1121603144
  4. Click the Save icon
  5. Click Record Actions>Release Record
    • Make sure the bib record have been released from the MD Editor prior to exporting the bib record from OCLC. If the record is locked the record will be unable to be exported to Alma
  6. Export the bib record from OCLC to Alma
  7. Check to make sure the NZ bib record and the IZ linked to the NZ bib record have been updated to a full bib record

NZ OCLC Connexion Client Configuration

NZ OCLC Connexion Client Web Browser Configuration

IZ OCLC Connexion Client and Browser Configuration