Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Alma Resource Management

Working with the Metadata Editor in the Institution and Network Zones. Includes indication and normalization rules.

Deleting Bib Records in the MD Editor

Bib Records can be deleted in the MD Editor for users with the following roles:

  • Cataloger
  • Cataloger Extended (must be combined with Cataloger)

DO NOT delete Network Zone (NZ) bib records per MSP-27. If you would like an NZ record deleted, please contact the NZ Coordinator using the "Request to Delete NZ Bib Records" form: https://forms.gle/KxbZGLaTP33jSkGq5

Institution Zone (IZ) only records can be deleted in the MD Editor using:

  •  File>Delete Record (Ctrl+D) -  Old MD Editor
  • Record Actions>Delete Record (Ctrl+D) - New MD Editor

NZ linked bib records will need to be unlinked from the NZ before the IZ bib record can be deleted. To unlink an IZ record from the NZ:

  • File>Copy to Catalog - Old MD Editor
  • Record Actions>Copy to Catalog (Alt+Shft+C) - New MD Editor


Deleting IZ bib records in the MD Editor will delete:

  • Bibliographic record (by itself)
  • Bibliographic record with one or more holdings records
  • Bibliographic record, holdings record, and one or more of its items (as long as the items do not have a status of Loan)
  • Bibliographic records with PO lines (note that a message indicates that PO lines will be removed when deleting the attached bibliographic record)

Deleting a Bib Record without Inventory

IZ only bib records can be deleted in the MD Editor. NZ linked record need to be unlinked from the NZ prior to deleting the record in the MD Editor. 


To delete an IZ only bib record without inventory:

  1. Open the bib record in the MD Editor
  2. Go to Record Actions>Delete Record (Ctrl+D)
  3. Click Confirm when the confirmation message appears
    • If there is associated inventory (item records) it will indicate that they will be deleted as well


To delete an NZ linked bib record without inventory:

  1. Open the bib record in the MD Editor
  2. If the library is the last holding record
    • Copy the NZ MMS ID located in MARC 001
    • Report the NZ bib record to be deleted to the NZ Coordinator
  3. Go to Record Actions>Copy to Catalog (Alt+Shft+C)
  4. Click the Save icon (Ctrl+S)
    • Make sure the new bib record has the campus 4 digit identifier at the end of the MMSID
  5. Go to Record Actions>Delete Record (Ctrl+D)
  6. Click Confirm when the confirmation message appears

Deleting a Set of Bib Records

IZ or NZ linked bib records can be deleted from a set of bib records and by running the "Delete Bibliographic Records" job. The "Delete Bibliographic Records" job will withdraw the bib record from the library's IZ. If the bib record is linked to the NZ, the NZ record will not be deleted and it will remain in the NZ.

To delete a set of bib records you need to have one of the following roles:

  • Catalog Administrator
  • Catalog Manager

There must not be open/active orders on bib records in order for them to be withdrawn using

Steps to delete a set of bib records:

  1. Create an All Titles set of records (logical or itemized)
  2. Go to Admin>Manage Jobs and Sets>Run a Job
  3. Search for the "Delete Bibliographic Record" job
  4. Click on the radio button for the "Delete Bibliographic Record" job
  5. Click Next
  6. Click on the set of records to be withdrawn using the "Delete Bibliographic Record" job
  7. Click Next
  8. Select the task parameters to be used when deleting the set of bib records:
    • Do not delete if related to other records
      • Related records are based on LOC related records
      • Relationships may not based on record relationships in the IZ
      • Recommendation is to leave this box unchecked
    • Delete all associated inventory resources
      • Must check this box if there is associated inventory or the bib record will not be deleted
  9. Click Next
  10. Review the job parameters
  11. Click Submit
  12. Click Confirm

 

Reporting NZ Bib Records to be Deleted

To report a NZ record to be deleted, please contact the Network Zone Coordinator:

  1. Go to https://slcny.libguides.com/overview/contact
  2. Click Request to Delete NZ Bib Records
  3. Fill out the form
    1. Please provide the NZ MMS ID (ending with 4801) and Title
    2. Multiple NZ records can be submitted on one form