Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Alma Resource Management

Working with the Metadata Editor in the Institution and Network Zones. Includes indication and normalization rules.

Suppressing and Unsuppressing Bib Records

Suppressing a bib record from discovery will prevent a bib record and its associated holdings/items from displaying to the end user in PrimoVE. The bib record will only be viewable in Alma.

Records that can be suppressed from discovery are:

  • "On Order" records (suppressed from location)
  • Office copies
  • Container records for Standing Orders
  • Databases
  • Records without inventory


The suppress icon will appears next to the title when a bib record is suppressed from discovery
Suppress icon from a record view from a repository searchIn the MD Editor the suppress icon will appear next to the title in the records list if it in an IZ only record. Records linked to the NZ will not display the suppress icon next to the title in the record list in the MD Editor.

Suppressing a Bib Record

Unsuppressing a Bib Record

Optional Ways to Suppress Bib Records in Alma

Optional ways to suppress a bib record: 

  1.  Records can be suppressed via the Process (Job) "Suppress Bib Records from Discovery".
  2. A Normalization Rule that suppresses records may be included in an Import Profile:
    1.  Select Resource Management > Configuration Menu
    2.  Select Metadata Configuration
    3. Select MARC21 Bibliographic
    4. Click the "Normalization" tab
    5. Select one of the rules, e.g. "Marc21 Bib normalize on save" > Actions: Edit 
    6. Check the Task List to see if it contains an active Process that "Sets the Suppressed flag of MMS
    7. Verify that the Flag is set to TRUE (the default is FALSE, no suppression)
  3. When the record is added via the menu Create inventory > Add physical item” > Holding type is “new” -- the record will be suppressed.
  4. Bib records that have no holdings or they are all suppressed, and suppressBibWithSuppressedHol is set to "true" if the HOL was suppressed as a result of an item deletion. The configuration is found by going to Configuration>Resources>General>Other Settings

Ex Libris Documentation