Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Alma Resource Management

Working with the Metadata Editor in the Institution and Network Zones. Includes indication and normalization rules.

Import Profiles

Alma provides the following kinds of import profiles:

  • New Order – Bibliographic records with embedded order data (EOD). Used to import bibliographic information and create PO lines and physical/electronic inventory.
  • Update Inventory – Shelf-ready material for inventory associated with PO lines, based on the PO line reference number or vendor reference number.
  • Repository – Bibliographic records. Used to import bibliographic information and create physical/electronic inventory.
  • Authority – Used to update authority records on an ongoing basis. Existing authority records that are matched with imported ones are updated and new imported authority records are added. (Available only if enabled by Ex Libris)
  • Initial Authority – Completely reload authority records. If matching authority records exist, they are deleted and replaced by the new ones. Available only if enabled by Ex Libris and you have local authority records in your repository)
  • Digital – Bibliographic records for digital inventory, and may also contain the digital inventory. There are two types of digital import profiles:
    • Local - Import digital resources stored locally
    • Remote - Import digital resources stored in a remote digital repository
  • Collections – Used to create top-level collections with their sub-collections by importing an encoded archival description (EAD) or OAI-PMH ListSets file.

Required Roles

To create, edit, copy, or delete import profiles, you must have one of the following roles:

  • Catalog Administrator
  • Acquisitions Administrator

To view or share an import profile, you must have one of the following roles:

  • Acquisitions Administrator
  • Purchasing Operator
  • Purchasing Manager
  • Repository Administrator
  • Catalog Administrator
  • General System Administrator

To delete an import profile, you must have one of the following roles:

  • Repository Administrator
  • Catalog Administrator
  • Acquisitions Administrator
  • General System Administrator

To create/edit a digital import profile, you must have the following role:

  • Digital Inventory Operator

New Order Import Profiles for Physical Records

New Order Import Profiles for eBooks

To Create a Repository Import Profile that Creates Inventory Upon Import

  1. Go to Resources>Import>Manage Import Profiles
  2. Click Add New Profile
  3. Click on the radio button next to New Order
  4. Click Next
  1. Use Network Zone – [Uncheck this box] 
    • Ebooks should not use the NZ
    • The import profile can be used to add the order/records to a local or CZ electronic collection
  2. Profile Name – [Type name]
  3. Profile Description – [Optional]
  4. Originating system – [Select vendor system]
    • Select “Other” if the vendor system is not in the list
  5. File name patterns – [Type .mrc]
  6. Import Protocol – [Select Upload files, FTP, or OAI) 
    • OAI (Open Archives Initiatives protocol) is only available for authority and repository import profiles
  7. Crosswalk –[Defaults to No and cannot be changed]
  8. Encoding format – [Select Binary for MARC files]
  9. Source format – [Select MARC21 Bibliographic]
    • Options that display are based on what record formats are configured in Alma
  10. Target format – [Automatically matches source format[
  11. Status – [Select Active]
  12. Click Next 
  1. Filter out Data Using – [Leave blank]
    • Uses indication rules to filter records from being imported
    • If a filter is applied to import profiles it can prevent records to be imported
  2. Correct the date using – [Select “SUNY OCLC Normalization Rule”]
    • Uses normalization rules to make changes to the bib record upon import
    • The SUNY normalization rule removes SUNY approved field
    • The SUNY normalization rule applies the SUNY LSHs
  3. Handle invalid data using – [Select MarcXML Bib Import]
    • Use “MarcXML Bib Import” per Ex Libris’ documentation
  4. Click Next


NOTE: if “Use Network Zone” is selected on Page 2 when creating an import profile, the import profile will have the ability to “Import local extensions” 
 

Match Profile:

  1. Match by Serial/Non Serial – [Select “Yes” to consider record type]
    • “No” does not consider the record type and used one match point
  2. Serial match method - [Select the best match method]
    • Appears when “Yes” is selected for Match by Serial / Non Serial
  3. Non Serial match method - [Select the best match method]
    • Appears when “Yes” is selected for Match by Serial / Non Serial

Match Actions:

  1. Handling method – [Select Automatic]
    • Automatic allows the system to merge matches without intervention
  2. Upon match – [Select how to handle matching bib records]
    • Merge 
    • Overlay 
    • Do Not Import  
    • Use NZ Record (when creating an NZ import profile)
  3. Single match – match only record with the same inventory type (electronic/physical) – [Check the box]
  4. Merge method – [Select merge method]
    • Use “SUNY – Overlay All But Local Fields” merge rule
  5. All bibliographic record deletion – [Keep unchecked]
    • For New Order Records delete records will not be included in EOD files
  6. Do not override/merge a record with a lower brief version – [Keep unchecked]
    • A bib record will not be imported if the bib record’s brief level is the same as the brief level of the record being imported
  7. Do not override Originating System – [Keep unchecked]
    • Merging/overlaying a record that was loaded with a different originating system will not change its existing originating system
  8. Do not override/merge record with an older version – [Optional]
    • Prevents older bibliographic records from overlaying or merging with newer records

Merge Records and Combine Inventory for Multi-Matches & Match:

  1. Merge and Combine – [Select Manually]
    • Disabled ignored this section
  2. Preferred record – [Selected which record to keep]
    • Records with most items
    • Records with highest brief level
  3. Secondary Record – [Select Delete]
    • ALWAYS select delete
  4. Merge method - [Select SUNY - Overlay All but Local Fields]
  5. Update holdings call number – [Optional]
  6. Upon no match – [Select Import]
  7. Click Next

Set management tags for all the records imported using this profile:

  1. Synchronize with OCLC – [Select “Don’t Publish” and select the condition]
  2. Condition can be configured to “Only new records” or “Unconditionally”
  3. Click Next
     

Inventory Operations:

  1. Click on the radio button next to Electronic
    • Once the button is selected the ebook mapping screen will display

eBook Mapping: Use the information from your technical specifications from the vendor to configure the inventory operations screen

  1. Portfolio Type – [Select Part of an electronic collection
    • Ebooks should be added to a CZ or local collection
  2. Electronic Collection – [Select the electronic collection]
    • Use the search list to find the electronic collection
  3. Service – [Select service type]
    • Defaults to Full Text
  4. Material type – [Select material type]
    • Defaults to Book
  5. Single portfolio
    • Select single portfolio unless the portfolios comes in parts and the EOD contains separate URLs for each part
  6. Create inventory only for new bibliographic records – [Leave unchecked]
  7. Extract access URL from field –[Enter MARC field from EOD]
  8. Subfield – [Enter MARC subfield from EOD]
  9. Populate other information that is contained in the EOD if applicable
    • Only need the URL, but libraries may map notes 
  10. License – [Select the license]
    • Licenses must be configured and in Alma to be selected
  11. Activate resource – [Check the box]
    • This activates and makes the ebook available upon import
  12. Click Next

EOD General Parameters:

  1. Electronic PO Line type – [Select Electronic Book – One time]
  2. Multiple vendors – [Leave unchecked]
  3. Vendor – [Select vendor]
  4. Vendor account – [Select the ebook account]
    • Must be configured in the vendor information to select
  5. PO Line Currency – [Use default of USD]
  6. Decimal point location – [Leave 0 if the EOD contains pricing in this format: 10.00]
  7. Acquisitions method – [Select acquisition method]
    • Use “Purchase at vendor system” if the institution uses funds
      • Requires fund mapping to be configured after saving the import profile
    • Use “Technical” if the institution does not use funds
  8. Map fields based on how fields are mapped in the vendor tech specs
  9. Default PO Line owner – [Select the purchasing library]
  10. Map funds – [Check this box when using “Purchase at Vendor System”]
    • Funds need to be mapped after saving the import profile
  11. Access Model Field/subfield or Default Access Model Field
    • Use the Access Model Field and subfield if the access model is mapped in the EOD populate
    • Use a Default Access model if there is no access model mapped in the EOD
    • Can leave these fields blank and will not impact import
  12. Do not create electronic task – [Check this box]
    • Only check this box if you selected “Activate resource” on screen 6 of the import profile
  13. Click Save
    • Funds need to be mapped after saving
       

Mapping Funds:

  1. Select Edit from the ellipses of the import profile
  2. Click on the Mapping tab
  3. Click Add Fund
    1. Source Name – [Type the name of the fund]
    2. Fund – [Select the fund from the list]
    3. Click Add
      • NOTE : Repeat this step for every fund that is required to be mapped
  4. Click Save

NOTE: New Order Import Profiles for physical records require locations to be mapped as well. Electronic portfolios do not have locations, therefor locations do not need to be mapped.
 

Repository Import Profiles

To Create a Repository Import Profile that Creates Inventory Upon Import

  1. Go to Resources>Import>Manage Import Profiles
  2. Click Add New Profile
  3. Select Repository
  4. Click Next

Import Profiles Details Page 2 opens:

  1. "Use Network Zone" is checked by default
    1.  If the import profile if for IZ only records make sure you uncheck "Use Network Zone"
  2. Profile Name: [Mandatory] - Name the profile
  3. Profile Description: [Optional]
  4. Originating System: Select where system the files are coming from
    1. Choose "Other" if the Originating system does not exists in the drop-down menu
  5. File Name Pattern: input the file pattern such as .mrc for MARC files
    1. .mrk files will not import into Alma, they must be converted to .mrc
      1. NOTE: if an import profile with .mrc fails to upload try changing this to .mrc?
  6. Import Protocol: Select the Import protocol to retrieve the files 
    1. Upload - manually upload the files 
    2. FTP - requires Scheduling and FTP Information fields in the import profile to be configured
    3. OAI - requires Scheduling and OAI Information fields in the import profile to be configured
  7. Crosswalk  is set to YES
  8. Import Protocol - file format for the import profile
    1. Upload 
      1. Binary
        1. Select the Encoding Format 
          1. GBK
          2. ISO8859_1
          3. UTF-8 (typically used for .mrc files/MARC files)
          4. BIG5
      2. Delimited Text File
        1. Select the Delimiter: Comma or Tab
      3. Excel
      4. XML
    2. FTP 
      1. Binary
      2. Delimited Text File
      3. Excel
      4. XML
    3. OAI - defaults to OAI XML
  9. Source Format: Select the correct Source Format
    1. MARC21 Bibliographic should be selected for .mrc/MARC files
  10. Target Format: Configured to change the source format to MARC21 Bibliographic and is not configurable
  11. Status: Defaults to Active
    1. Status needs to be Active to use an import Profile

The Example below is shows the Profile Details for a Repository Import Profile Using the Import Protocol of Upload File/s and Physical Source Format of Binary:
Profiles Details Screen Using Import Profile of Upload and File Format of Binary

  1. Click Next

Import Profiles Details Page 3 opens

  1. Filter: Filter out data using - select an indication rule to Filter out records from importing based on specific criteria
    1. NZ import profiles should use "SUNY Remove E-Reources and 066 Filter and 040 $b not ENG"
    2. IZ import profiles using a filter is optional. Indication rules must be created locally to use for IZ import profiles
  2. Normalization: Correc the data using - Normalization rules are used to filter out MARC fields or make changes to them upon import
    1. NZ import profiles should use the "SUNY OCLC Import Normalization Rule"
    2. IZ import profiles can use a local version of the "SUNY OCLC Import Normalization Rule"
      1. This is recommended to align with the Local Subject Heading Initiative and if you have implemented 264 _4 $c (copyright) to display in PrimoVE
    3. Validation Exception Profile: Handle Invalid data using - MarcXML Bib Import (Ex Libris recommendation)
       

Import Profile Page 3 Details for an IZ Repository Import Profile without using a Filter:
Import Profile Page Details Page 3 for an IZ Repository Import Not using a Filter

  1. Click Next

Import Profile Details Page 4 opens

  1. Match Profile Section
    1. Match By Serial/NonSerial - 
      1. Yes - Default - this considers the resource type when matching
      2. No - does not consider the resource type when matching
        1. Fewer Match Method options are available when selection No
    2. Match Method: Select the appropriate Match Method
      • Should be based information in the import files
        • It is important to understand what MARC fields are in the import file and how to best select the match method
      • Matching on the "Unique OCLC Identifier Match Method" is always preferred as long as the import file has the OCLC information in the 001, 001 and 003, or 035

Match Methods Explanations & Details

This Match Profile Section example is using the Serial/Non-Serial Match Method of "Unique OCLC Indenitifier Match Method":

Serial/Non-Serial Match Profile using Unique OCLC Identifier Match Method

  1. Match Actions Section
    1. Handling Method
      1. Automatic - Alma resolves the matching according to the selected Upon match behavior
        1. If you select Automatic configuring the following fields"
          1. Upon Match: 
            1. Merge - Merges the records based on Merge rules
            2. Overlay - Disregards all bib data and the matching record will overlay the existing bib record with the new bib record 
            3. Do Not Import - Will not import the record and discard the record
            4. Import New Record - Will import the record and may create duplicate data
            5. Use NZ Record - Only Available when it is an NZ import profile
          2. Single match - match only record with the same inventory type (electronic/physical) - Check this box to ensure matches are for the same inventory type
      2. Manual - If the imported bibliographic record has a match in Alma, the import process is set to the status Manual Handling Required and the user must choose whether or not to import the record
    2. Merge Method - Select "SUNY -Overlay All But Local Fields"
      1. "Overlay All but Local" is an Ex Libris out of the box Merge Rule that does not behave as SUNY expected, which is why the SUNY - Overlay All But Local Fields" was created
    3. Select Action
      1. Allow Bibliographic record deletion
        1. Must be checked if you want the same import profile to add, update, and delete bib records from Alma
        2. This should only be checked for IZ import profiles
          1. Deletions only happen when the LDR 05 = d and No POLs and associated inventory
        3. This should not be checked for an NZ import profile as Institutions should not delete NZ records
      2. Do not override/merge a record with a lower brief version
        1. Do not check this as it currently will not merge or override a record with the same or lower brief level
    4. Do not override/merge record with an older version - Defaults to Disabled
      1. Keep this Disabled as this functionality is not currently developed
    5. Do not override originating system - would not allow a record to override the originating system for the bib record
      1. Do not check this box

This example is for an IZ repository import profile where the Match Actions are automatic and allow the import profile to delete bib records:

Match Actions Section of Page 4 for an IZ import profile: Match Handling Automatic and Allowing Bib Record Deletion

  1. Automatic Multi-Matching Handling Section
    1. Disregard invalid/canceled system control number identifiers
      1. If selected it requires Manual Match Handling when invalid/canceled system control numbers exits
    2. Prefer record with the same inventory type (electronic/physical)
      1. Select this to allow Alma to give preference to matching bib records based on the same inventory type
      2. Recommend selecting this option
    3. Skip and do not import unresolved records
      1. If selected these records will not be imported, but will need to be manually handled to resolve import issues

This example for an IZ Repository Import Automatic Multi-Match Handling with only Prefer record with the same inventory type (electronic/physical) selected:IZ Repository Import Profile Page 4: Automatic Multi-Match Handling

  1. Handle Record Redirection Section - The Alma import process supports external catalog management of bibliographic records. For institutions that manage their Alma catalog based on input from an external catalog, the Alma import profile provides options for managing bibliographic record changes in the Alma database that are determined by the external catalog. 
    1. Currently not being used in SUNY
    2. To keep uniformity, change the Merge Method to "SUNY - Overlay All But Local Fields"
  2. No Match Section
    1. Import - Imports the records upon to Match
      1. NZ Import Profiles give you the option to Import to 
      2. IZ - select Import
    2. Do Not Import - Will not import bib records that are not currently in Alma

This example is for an IZ Repository Import Profile that allows bib records to be Imported upon no match:
IZ Repository Import Profile Page 4: Import Upon No Match
 

  1. Click Next

Set Management tags trigger bib records to publish to an external system. SUNY libraries only publish to OCLC and campuses just need to focus with "Synchronize with OCLC" to publish holdings to OCLC on this page.

Some considerations when deciding to publish or not to publish holdings to OCLC upon import:

  • Do the bib records have OCLC Numbers? Bib records without OCLC Numbers will not be published to OCLC based on how the Bib Data Sync Collection in WorldShare has been configured
  • Is it a Physical bib record import profile and the bib records have OCLC Numbers? Is so, do you want the bib records to to publish the Campus holdings to OCLC upon import/order?
  • Are the bib records for an electronic collection? Most SUNY Bib Data Sync Collections in WorldShare are not configured to publish holdings to OCLC

Import Profiles Details Page 5 opens

  1. Synchronize with OCLC: Don't Publish (Default)
    1. Change to Publish Bibliographic Records or Holdings Only if the records can be published to OCLC based on the Campus' Bib Data Sync Collection or Holdings Data Sync Collection
  2. Condition: Only New Records (Default)
    1. Change to Unconditionally if all records should be published, not just new records
  3. Click Next 

Import Profile Details Page 6 opens

  1. Inventory Operations - Select the Inventory being added with the import profile

Electronic 

When Electronic is selected as the Inventory operations e-book mapping configurations will display.

NOTE: It is recommended to create Local Electronic Collections prior to creating an IZ Electronic Repository Import Profiles, otherwise the portfolios will be added to the IZ individually. Local Electronic Collections allow you to manage portfolios more efficiently.

Stand Alone:

  1. Inventory Operations
    1. Select Electronic
  2. Ebook Mapping
    1. Delete/deactivate portfolios - (Not available with Stand Alone Portfolios)
    2. Use Community Zone portfolios - Not Available to select for a stand alone portfolio
    3. Portfolio type -  Select Stand alone 
    4. Material type - select the appropriate material type from the drop-down menu
    5. Enable proxy
      1. Select True
    6. Single portfolio/Multiple portfolios 
      1. Single portfolio - Default and cannot be changed
        1. Will use the first MARC field/subfield in the MARC record with the URL that is mapped in the import profile
    7. Create inventory only for new bibliographic records 
      1. Select this so that new inventory is not create for existing inventory
    8. Extract access URL from field - MARC field the URL is being extracted from the MARC record for portfolio linking
      1. Required or the portfolio will be imported without a URL to link in PrimoVE
      2. Example; 856
    9. Subfield - Subfield for the URL is in the MARC field of the MARC record
      1. Required or the portfolio will be imported without a URL to link in PrimoVE
      2. Example; U
    10. Indicators to skip (use # for empty indicator) - 
    11. Extract internal description note from field  - MARC field the internal noted is being extracted from the MARC record 
      1. Only use if applicable
    12. Subfield -  Subfield for the MARC field the internal noted is being extracted from the MARC record 
    13. Default internal description note - Type in internal description note
      1. Only use if applicable
      2. It will be the default internal description in the portfolio
    14. Extract authentication note from field - MARC field the authentication note is being extracted from the MARC record
      1. Only use if applicable
    15. Subfield - Subfield for the MARC field the authentication note is being extracted from the MARC record
    16. Default authentication note - Type in the authentication note
      1. Only use if applicable
      2. It will be the default internal description in the portfolio
    17. Extract public note from field - MARC field the public note is being extracted from the MARC record
      1. Only use if applicable
      2. Example; 856
    18. Subfield - Subfield the MARC field the public note is being extracted from the MARC record
      1. Only use if applicable
      2. Example; z
    19. Default public note - Type in the public note to use instead of the MARC field/subfield note 
      1. Only use if applicable
      2. It will be the default public note in PrimoVE
    20. Extract library from field - MARC field where the Library information is extracted from the MARC record
      1. Only use if applicable
    21. Subfield - Subfield for the MARC field where the Library information is extracted from the MARC record
      1. Only use if applicable
    22. Default library - Select the default library to be associated with the portfolio if not being extract from #20 and #21
    23. License - Select is applicable
    24. Activate Resource - Check the box so that portfolios are activated upon import

Repository Import Profile Page 6: Electronic  - Stand Alone Portfolio

Part of an Electronic Collection:

  1. Inventory Operations
    1. Select Electronic
  2. Ebook Mapping
    1. Delete/deactivate portfolios - (Optional with Part of A Collection)
      1. Allow bibliographic record deletion needs to be selected in order to be able to select Delete/deactivate portfolios, be aware that the delete action when an import job is run is not limited to electronic portfolios when Delete/deactivate portfolios is selected.
      2. IMPORTANT: When the Allow bibliographic record deletion and Delete/deactivate portfolios parameters are selected in the Import Profile, the delete action is applied to any single match that is found. (Multiple matches that are found require manual handling and are identified in the job report.)
      3. Suggestion: is to create a separate import profile to delete records per vendor, but one import profile can be used to add, update, delete bib records
    2. Use Community Zone portfolios - Only available to select when a CZ Electronic Collection is being used
    3. Portfolio type - Standalone or Part of an Electrocnic Collection
      1. If Part if an Electronic Collection is selected, the electronic collection needs to be configured to in order to select it
    4. Material type - select the appropriate material type from the drop-down menu
    5. Single portfolio/Multiple portfolios
      1. Single portfolio - select if only the first URL is imported and activated for the portfolio
        • Click on the Single portfolio link above to continue
      2. Multiple portfolios - select if multiple URLs need to be imported and activated for the portfolio
        • Click on the Multiple portfolio link above to Continue

If Single Portfolio is Selected:

  1. Create inventory only for new bibliographic records 
    1. Select this so that new inventory is not create for existing inventory
  2. Extract access URL from field - MARC field the URL is being extracted from the MARC record for portfolio linking
    1. Required or the portfolio will be imported without a URL to link in PrimoVE
    2. Example; 856
  3. Subfield - Subfield for the URL is in the MARC field of the MARC record
    1. Required or the portfolio will be imported without a URL to link in PrimoVE
    2. Example; U
  4. Indicators to skip (use # for empty indicator) - 
  5. Extract internal description note from field  - MARC field the internal noted is being extracted from the MARC record 
    1. Only use if applicable
  6. Subfield -  Subfield for the MARC field the internal noted is being extracted from the MARC record 
  7. Default internal description note - Type in internal description note
    1. Only use if applicable
    2. It will be the default internal description in the portfolio
  8. Extract authentication note from field - MARC field the authentication note is being extracted from the MARC record
    1. Only use if applicable
  9. Subfield - Subfield for the MARC field the authentication note is being extracted from the MARC record
  10. Default authentication note - Type in the authentication note
    1. Only use if applicable
    2. It will be the default internal description in the portfolio
  11. Extract public note from field - MARC field the public note is being extracted from the MARC record
    1. Only use if applicable
    2. Example; 856
  12. Subfield - Subfield the MARC field the public note is being extracted from the MARC record
    1. Only use if applicable
    2. Example; z
  13. Default public note - Type in the public note to use instead of the MARC field/subfield note 
    1. Only use if applicable
    2. It will be the default public note in PrimoVE
  14. Extract library from field - MARC field where the Library information is extracted from the MARC record
    1. Only use if applicable
  15. Subfield - Subfield for the MARC field where the Library information is extracted from the MARC record
    1. Only use if applicable
  16. Default library - Select the default library to be associated with the portfolio if not being extract from #20 and #21
  17. License - Select is applicable
  18. Activate Resource - Check the box so that portfolios are activated upon import

Repository Import Profile Page 6: Electronic  - Part of a Collection - Stand Alone Portfolio

 

If Multiple Portfolios is Selected

  1. Create inventory only for new bibliographic records 
    1. Select this so that new inventory is not create for existing inventory
  2. Extract portfolio information from field - MARC field the URL is being extracted from the MARC record for portfolio linking
    1. Required or the portfolio will be imported without a URL to link in PrimoVE
    2. Example; 856
  3. Extract access URL from subfield - Subfield for the URL is in the MARC field of the MARC record
    1. Required or the portfolio will be imported without a URL to link in PrimoVE
    2. Example; U
  4. Indicators to skip (use # for empty indicator) - 
  5. Extract internal description note from subfield  - Subfield for the MARC field the internal noted is being extracted from the MARC record 
    1. Only use if applicable
  6. Default internal description note - Type in internal description note
    1. Only use if applicable
    2. It will be the default internal description in the portfolio
  7. Extract authentication note from subfield - subfield where the authentication note is in the MARC record
    1. Only use if applicable
  8. Default authentication note - Type in the authentication note
    1. Only use if applicable
    2. It will be the default internal description in the portfolio
  9. Extract public from - Subfield the MARC field the public note is being extracted from the MARC record
    1. Only use if applicable
    2. Example; z
  10. Default public note - Type in the public note to use instead of the MARC field/subfield note 
    1. Only use if applicable
    2. It will be the default public note in PrimoVE
  11. Extract library from subfield - Subfield for the MARC field where the Library information is extracted from the MARC record
    1. Only use if applicable
  12. Default library - Select the default library to be associated with the portfolio if not being extract from #20 and #21
  13. License - Select is applicable
  14. Activate Resource - Check the box so that portfolios are activated upon import

Repository Import Profile Page 6: Electronic  - Multiple Portfolios

 

Physical - Physical is selected for Physical record import profiles

Basic Mapping:

  1. Inventory Operations - Select Physical
  2. physical Mapping
    1. Mapping Policy - Basic
    2. Material type: Select the correct material type from the drop-down menu
    3. Library field - MARC field the library information is in the MARC record
      1. Use only if applicable
    4. Subfield - Subfield for the MARC field the library information is in the MARC record
      1. Use in conjunction with Library field
      2. Use only if applicable
    5. Location field - MARC field the location information is in the MARC record
      1. Use only if applicable
    6. Subfield - Subfield for the MARC field the library location information is in the MARC record
      1. Use in conjunction with location field
      2. Use only if applicable
    7. Default Library - All imported records be assigned the Library in the Default Library field
      1. Select the default library
    8. Default Location - Only configurable is Default Library is selected. The default location will be applied to all imported records
      1. Select the default library
    9. Map Library/Location - used to map library and location information from the MARC record from a vendor
      1. If selected, the Location Mapping must be configured after saving the import profile upon initial creation
    10. Number of items field - MARC field that contains the number of items in the MARC record
      1. Use only if applicable
    11. Subfield - Subfield for the MARC field that contains the number of items in the MARC record
      1. Use only if applicable
      2. Corresponds with Number of items field
    12. Default number - Is the number of items to be created it the number of items field in the MARC record is empty/does not exist
    13. Barcode field - MARC field that contains the barcode in the MARC record
      1. Use only if applicable
    14. Subfield - Sibfield for the MARC field that contains the barcode in the MARC record
      1. Use only if applicable
      2. Corresponds with Barcode field
    15. Item policy field - MARC field that contains the item policy in the MARC record
      1. Not applicable in SUNY unless it is an exception
    16. Subfield - Subfield for the MARC field that contains the item policy in the MARC record
      1. Use only if applicable
      2. Corresponds with Item policy field
    17. Default item policy
      1. Not applicable in SUNY unless it is an exception
    18. Item Call Number - MARC field that contains the Call Number in the MARC record. Adds an item level call number
      1. Use if Applicable
      2. Example; 050, 082, 090, or 099
    19. Subfield - Subfield for the MARC field that contains the Call Number in the MARC record
      1. Use only if applicable
      2. Corresponds with Item call number field
      3. Example; a
  3. Holdings Record Mapping - Optional (Holdings Record Mapping Documentation)
    1. 852 $b (Library) and $c (location) are configured above in the Library/Location fields and do not need to be mapped here
    2. Update Holdings Call Number - Select this option to enable the update of a holdings record with the call number that is part of an imported bibliographic record.

Repository Import Profile Page 6: Physical  - Basic Mapping Policy
 

Advanced Mapping:

  1. Inventory Operations - Select Physical
  2. Physical Mapping Section
    1. Mapping Policy: Advanced
    2. Item Creation Policy
      1. Items and holdings - created both
      2. Holdings only - created only a holding record
    3. Material type: Select the correct material type from the drop-down menu
    4. Item information field - The field from which you want to map item-level information from the input records. Unlike the basic mapping option, all subfields are taken from a single field in the input record.
      1. Select the MARC field the item information is in the MARC record
  3. General Information Subfields
    1. Barcode - Subfield for the MARC field in the bib record (Optional)
    2. Item Policy - Do Not Use unless an exception
      1. SUNY uses Locations for item policies
    3. Default Item Policy -Do Not Use unless an exception
      1. SUNY uses Locations for item policies
  4. Permanent Location Subfields
    1. Library - Subfield for the MARC field the library location information is in the MARC record
    2. Default library - All imported records be assigned the Library in the Default Library field
      1. Select the default library
    3. Location - Subfield for the MARC field the library location information is in the MARC record
    4. Default location - Only configurable is Default Library is selected. The default location will be applied to all imported records
      1. Select the default library
    5. Map Library/Location - used to map library and location information from the MARC record from a vendor
      1. If selected, the Location Mapping must be configured after saving the import profile upon initial creation
    6. Item call number - Subfield for the MARC field that contains the Call Number in the MARC record
    7. Item call number type - Subfield for the MARC field that contains the Call Number type in the MARC record
    8. Default item call number type  - All items will be configured to the default item call number type upon import if selected
  5. Temporary Location Subfields (Optional) - use only if records will be placed in a temporary location immediately upon receipt
    1. Temporary Library
    2. Temporary Default library
    3. Temporary Location
    4. Temporary Default location
    5. Temporary Map library/location
    6. Temporary Item call number
    7. Temporary Item call number type
    8. Temporary Default item call number type
    9. Temporary item policy
    10. Temporary Default item policy
  6. Enum/Chron Information Subfields (Optional) - for serials only
    1. Year of Issue
    2. Enumeration A
    3. Enumeration B
    4. Enumeration C
    5. Chronology I
    6. Chronology J
    7. Chronology K
    8. Description
  7. Notes Subfields- (Optional)
    1. Public note
    2. Fulfillment note
    3. Internal note 1
    4. Internal note 2
    5. Internal note 3
    6. Statistics note 1
    7. Statistics note 2
    8. Statistics note 3
  8. Holdings Records Mapping - Optional (Holdings Record Mapping Documentation)
    1. 852 $b (Library) and $c (location) are configured above in the Library/Location fields and do not need to be mapped here
    2. Update Holdings Call Number - Select this option to enable the update of a holdings record with the call number that is part of an imported bibliographic record.

The example below if for a Local Electronic Collection Import Profile

Example Import Profile Details Page

Example Electronic Import Profile Normalization & Validation Page


Example Electronic Import Profile Match Page Part 1

 

Example Electronic Import Profile Set Management Tags Page

 

Example Electronic Import Inventory Information Page Part 1

 

Example Electronic Import Profile Match Page Part 2

 

Example Electronic Import Inventory Information Page Part 2

Creating Import Profiles without POLs and Inventory

Creating an Import Profile for Titles Published in Dspace