Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Alma Resource Management

Working with the Metadata Editor in the Institution and Network Zones. Includes indication and normalization rules.

Releasing Records vs. Save and Release Record

Bib and holdings records that are opened in the MD Editor need to be released once the cataloger is done viewing and/or editing the records. Bib or holdings records opened in the MD Editor will be locked until they are released manually by the user or after the hour of inactivity in the MD Editor. Releasing the records will allow other catalogers in SUNY to open NZ linked bib records in the MD Editor and other catalogers at the same SUNY library to open the IZ only bib records and holdings records in the MD Editor. 


Every time a bib or holdings record is saved in the MD Editor a new version is created, therefor:

  • "Release Record" should be used when no changes have been made to the bib or holding record
  • "Save and Release Record" should be used when:
    • Local notes are added or remove from a bib record
    • Holdings records have been modified

Recordings

Releasing Records

If a bib record is opened in the MD Editor without making any changes use "Release Record." Using "Release Record" releases the record without saving the record as a new version.

Records can be released from the:

 

Release records opened in the MD Editor:

  1. Going to Record Actions>Release Records (Alt+Shft+R) - in the new MD Editor
  2. Click "Yes" when the confirmation message appears

 

Release records from the records list:

Records that have not been released and remain in the record list can be released by. Releasing records from the records list will release ALL records. To release all records in the records list:

  1. Click on the "Release displayed records in List" icon
  2. Click "Yes" when the confirmation message appears

Save and Release Records

If a bib record is opened in the MD Editor and changes has been made to the bib record use "Save and Release Record.' "Save and Release Record" will save the changes to the bib record and create a new version. Save and release records by:

  • Going to Save>Save and Release Records (Ctrl+Alt+R) - in the new MD Editor

Closing Records in the New MD Editor

Closing a record using the "X" in the upper right-hand corner of the record will close the record from displaying in the editing pane of the MD Editor, but it does not release the record from the MD Editor. The record will remain in the records list until it has been released. Records in the records list will not remain locked after 1 hour of inactivity.

If you are finished working with a bib or holdings record it is better to:

  1. "Save and Release the Record" if changes have been made record or
  2. "Release Record" if no changes have been made to the record


To Close a record that is open in the Main Pane of the MD Editor that the user plans to return to at a later time:

  1. Click the "X" in the upper right-hand corner of the header of the title that is open in the editing pane of the MD Editor
     

Close a Record in the Main Pane of the New MD Editor