Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Alma Resource Management

Working with the Metadata Editor in the Institution and Network Zones. Includes indication and normalization rules.

Splitting Physical/Electronic Inventory on the Same Bib Record

Physical and electronic inventory should be on separate bib records in Alma.


Electronic portfolios should not be ordered from a Network Zone (NZ) or Institution Zone (IZ) physical format bib record. Electronic portfolios should be ordered in Alma from either the:

  1. Community Zone (CZ) 
  2. Institution Zone (IZ)  


Bib records with physical and electronic inventory in Alma may have:

  1. Migrated on the same bib record because physical and electronic inventory was on the same bib record in Aleph and the Aleph
  2. Accidentally ordered electronic portfolios on the physical bib record in Alma
     

The P2E process:

  1. Created the electronic portfolio on the physical bib record
  2. Created an IZ only electronic portfolio
    • The IZ electronic portfolios are not linked to the CZ and will, therefore, have an IZ icon
  3. 865 $u was used to add the linking information to the portfolio
    • MARC 856 did not migrate in the bib record unless otherwise specified during migration
  4. Included the electronic provider name if the information was included in 856 $z 
    • This is helpful to determine which CZ electronic collection the electronic portfolio should be linked to


Splitting electronic portfolios:

  • Must be split record by record because there are no jobs in Alma that can split inventory
  • The URL in the portfolio editor can be used to help identify the electronic collection if the collection name is not populated from migration

Analytics Report to Identify Bibs with Physical and Electronic Inventory

An analytics report has been created to identify bib records in Alma with the physical and electronic on the same record.

The "Physical and Electronic Inventory on a Physical Bib Record" report can be accessed:

/Share Folders/Community/Reports/Consortia/SUNY/Resource Management

  1. Go to Analytics>Analytics>Design Analytics
  2. Click Catalog
  3. Expand the "Shared Folders"
  4. Expand the "Community" folder
  5. Expand the "Reports" folder
  6. Expand the "Consortia" folder
  7. Expand the "SUNY" folder
  8. Expand the "Resource Management" folder
  9. Click Open or Edit from the "Physical and Electronic Inventory on a Physical Bib Record" report
    • Open - will open the results only, which can be exported to excel 
    • Edit - will allow the user to view and change the criteria, as well as see the job result
      IMPORTANT: DO NOT CHANGE THE REPORT!  The report can also be "Saved as" to the institutions folder under the reports file. The report can be modified once it has been saved to the institution using the "Save as" icon and saving it to the desired path.

 

Analytics Report to Identify Electronic Inventory Only on Physical Bib Records

An analytics report has been created to identify physical bib records with IZ linked electronic inventory only.

IMPORTANT: DO NOT CHANGE THE REPORT!  You can use the report from this path as is. The report can also be "Saved as" to the institutions folder under the reports file. The report can be modified once it has been saved to the institution using the "Save as" icon and saving it to the desired path.

The "Electronic Inventory Only on Physical Bib Records" report can be accessed:

/Share Folders/Community/Reports/Consortia/SUNY/Resource Management

  1. Go to Analytics>Analytics>Design Analytics
  2. Click Catalog
  3. Expand the "Shared Folders"
  4. Expand the "Community" folder
  5. Expand the "Reports" folder
  6. Expand the "Consortia" folder
  7. Expand the "SUNY" folder
  8. Expand the "Resource Management" folder
  9. Click Edit from the "Electronic Inventory Only on Physical Bib Records" report

Splitting Electronic Inventory from a Physical Bib Record Workflow Flowchart

Splitting Electronic Inventory from Physical Inventory

  1. Identify electronic portfolios to be split
  2. Review electronic portfolios to be split
  3. Relink electronic portfolios or Delete electronic portfolios

Electronic Portfolios to be split can be identified:

  1. Manually during daily workflows
  2. Using an analytics report

 

Run the "Physical and Electronic Inventory on a Physical Bib Record" report:

  1. Go to Analytics>Analytics>Design Analytics
  2. Go to /Share Folders/Community/Reports/Consortia/SUNY/Resource Management>Physical and Electronic Inventory on a Physical Bib Record 
    • IMPORTANT: DO NOT EDIT THE REPORT unless you "Save as" the report first to the Institution's reports folder
  3. Click Open
  4. Export the report (and/or Save the report to save to an institution's report directory)
    • Export the report by:
      1. Clicking on the "Export this analysis" icon
      2. Select Formatted>Excel (or other format)
    • Save the set by:
      1. Click Edit 
      2. Clicking on the "Save as" icon and save it to the appropriate folder under the Institutions report folder
        • Shared Reports>SUNY [Institution name]>Reports>[Folder the report will be copied to]
  5. Open the file in Excel to review the records
    • Right click on the MMS ID column ( this will preserve the number in the column)
      • Select Format>Title 
    • Right click on the Portfolio ID column (this will preserve the number in the column)
      • Select Format>Title

 

Review electronic portfolio to be split from a repository search:

  1. Perform an "All Titles: Keywords: [MMS ID]" repository search to view both physical and electronic inventory:
  2. Perform an "Electronic Portfolio: Title: [ISSN, ISBN, or Title]" repository search to see if the electronic portfolio already exists in either the IZ or the CZ
  3. Determine how to handle the electronic portfolio being split:
    1. If it is an IZ electronic portfolio being linked to the CZ because a portfolio does not already exist:
      1. Determine the collection it needs to be linked to
        • The link came be found on the Linking tab of the portfolio if the electronic collection is not populated
      2. Use “Link to Community” workflow to link the IZ electronic portfolio to the CZ
    2. If it is a CZ electronic portfolio being split:
      • Use "Relink to another bibliographic record" workflow to relink the electronic portfolio to the CZ bib record 
    3. If the IZ portfolio will not be linked to the CZ
      1. Export the electronic format bib record from OCLC to the IZ
      2. Relink the portfolio to the exported bib using "Relink to another bib record" and select the IZ bib record
      3. "Attach to an electronic collection" to add it to a local or CZ collection
    4. Delete the electronic portfolio being split if another portfolio already exists manually or using the “Delete Portfolios” job on a electronic portfolio set
      • If a POL exists for the electronic portfolio, move the POL to the electronic portfolio that is being retained 
    5. Determine whether to use the CZ descriptive record
      • If you do not want to use the CZ descriptive record:
        1. Export the electronic format bib record from OCLC to the IZ
        2. Relink the portfolio to the exported bib using "Relink to another bib record" and select the IZ bib record
        3. Then, link the IZ portfolio to the CZ collection using "Link to Community"

 

Review electronic portfolios to be split from a set:


To create an itemized set from a file

  1. Export the analytics report to excel
  2. Delete the first two rows (title and blank row)
  3. Click Admin>Manage Jobs and Sets>Manage Sets
  4. Click Add Set
  5. Click Itemized
  6. The Set Details screen opens
    1. Set Name: [Name the set]
    2. Description: [Optional]
    3. Note: [Optional]
    4. Set content type: [Select All Titles or Electronic Portfolio]
      • All Titles allows the user to view the physical and electronic inventory on the bib record
      • Electronic Portfolio allows the user to view the electronic portfolio only
    5. Private: [Yes is the default and will keep the set private]
    6. Status: [Active]
    7. Add Contents from File to Set
      1. Click on the radio button for From File
      2. Click on the "File" icon to upload the excel report
    8. Click Save


To create an itemized set from analytics:

  1. Click Admin>Manage Jobs and Sets>Manage Sets
  2. Click Add Set
  3. Click Itemized
  4. The Set Details screen opens
    1. Set Name: [Name the set]
    2. Description: [Optional]
    3. Note: [Optional]
    4. Set content type: [Select All Titles or Electronic Portfolio]
      • All Titles allows the user to view the physical and electronic inventory on the bib record
      • Electronic Portfolio allows the user to view the electronic portfolio only
    5. Private: [Yes is the default and will keep the set private]
    6. Status: [Active]
    7. Add Contents from File to Set
      1. Click on the radio button for From Analytics
      2. Analytic Folder: [Select the report path - can use the report path from the path: /Share Folders/Community/Reports/Consortia/SUNY/Resource Management or from the institution's report path if the report is "saved as" there]
      3. Name: [Select the report]
    8. Click Save

 

Split IZ electronic portfolios that will be link to the CZ:

  1. Perform an "Electronic Portfolio" repository search for the electronic portfolio to be split
  2. Click Link to Community from the ellipses
  3. Click on the radio button next to the electronic portfolio/collection to be relinked to
    1. If there is no matching electronic portfolio in the community, use the troubleshooting workflow
  4. Click Next
  5. Click Next
  6. Select source of descriptive information: [Select "Use descriptive metadata from the community']
  7. Click Next
  8. Click Link to the Community
    • Use the following troubleshooting workflow if the follow error message appears: "The selected portfolio already belongs to the selected electronic collection. You can do one of the following: 1. Go back and select another occurrence of the electronic collection; 2. Go back and select another portfolio; 3. Cancel and leave the standalone portfolio unlinked"

 

Split IZ electronic portfolios that will not be linked to the CZ:

  1. Export the correct format bib record to the IZ from OCLC if it does not already exist
  2. Perform an "Electronic Portfolio" repository search for the electronic portfolio to be split
  3. Click Edit Portfolio
  4. Click Relink to another bibliographic record
    1. Click on the "Select from list" icon
    2. Search for the title in the IZ
    3. Click on the Title
    4. Handle bibliographic records without inventory: [Select "Delete bibliographic record(s)"]
    5. Click Confirm
  5. Click Attach to an electronic collection
    1. Click the "Select from list" icon
    2. Search for the electronic collection the record should be linked to 
    3. Click Confirm
  6. Click Cancel or Save
    • Cancel - if no changes have been made to the electronic portfolio
    • Save - if changes have been made to the electronic portfolio

Relink CZ linked electronic portfolio:

  1. Perform an "Electronic Portfolio" repository search for the electronic portfolio to be split
  2. Click Edit Portfolio
  3. Click Relink to another bibliographic record
  4. Choose title: 
    1. Click the "Select from list" icon
    2. Search for the CZ bib record the electronic portfolio should be linked to
    3. Click on the Title
    4. Handling bibliographic records without inventory: [Select "Delete bibliographic record(s)"]
  5. Click Confirm
  6. Click Cancel or Save
    1. Cancel - if no changes have been made to the electronic portfolio
    2. Save - if changes have been made to the electronic portfolio

Delete Electronic Portfolios:

Electronic portfolios only need to be deleted if a CZ electronic portfolio already exists in the repository for the electronic portfolio and would create a duplicate portfolio. Electronic portfolios can be deleted:


Move the POL to the electronic portfolio that is being retained if the electronic portfolio being delete has an associated POL:


Manually:

  1. Search for the electronic portfolio using an "Electronic Portfolio" repository search
  2. Check to see if there is a POL attached to the electronic portfolio
    • Proceed to step 4 if there is no POL associated with the electronic portfolio being deleted
  3. Move the POL to the electronic portfolio being retained
    1. Copy the POL number
    2. Click Edit Portfolio from the electronic portfolio the POL will be moved to
    3. Click on the Acquisitions tab
      1. Click on the “Select from list” icon
      2. Search for the POL
      3. Click on the POL
    4. Click Save
    5. Search by POL using an Order Lines: PO Line:  [POL number] repository search
    6. Click Change bib reference from the ellipses of the POL
    7. Click Confirm
    8. Search for the electronic portfolio the POL was moved to
    9. Click on the title
    10. Search for the electronic portfolio being deleted using and "Electronic Portfolio" search
  4. Click Delete from the ellipses
  5. Handling bibliographic records without inventory: [Select "Delete bibliographic record(s)"]
  6. Click Confirm


Using a job:

  1. Go to Admin>Manage Jobs and Set>Run a Job
  2. Select the "Delete portfolios" job
  3. Click Next
  4. Select the set 
  5. Click Next
  6. Portfolio is linked to an active PO-line: [Select one}
    • Skip
    • Delete portfolio
  7. Portfolio is linked to an active e-Activation task: [Select one]
    • Skip
    • Delete portfolio
  8. Handling bibliographic records without inventory: [Select "Delete bibliographic record(s)]
  9. Click Submit
  10. Click Confirm

Splitting Electronic Inventory from Physical Bib Records Without Physical Inventory

  1. Perform an "ALL Titles: Keywords: [MMS ID]" repository search to review the electronic inventory on the physical bib record
  2. Determine the CZ or IZ electronic collection the portfolio belong to
  3. Perform an "Electronic Portfolio: Title: [Title]" repository to search:
    1. If an electronic portfolio already exists and is linked to the correct electronic collection
      • Delete the electronic portfolio and bib record if an electronic portfolio already exists for the collection
      • If it is the last portfolio on the physical record it will be deleted when "Delete bibliographic records" is selected for "How to handle bibliographic records without inventory"
    2. To link the electronic portfolios to the correct format bib record and/or zone
      • The linking URL can be helpful to determine the collection 
  4. Click Link to Community from the ellipses
    • If there is no matching electronic portfolio in the community review the Troubleshooting workflow
  5. Select the portfolio in the correct collection
  6. Click Next
  7. Click Next
  8. Select source of descriptive record: [Select "Use descriptive metadata from the community"]
    • If the institution prefers to use the descriptive metadata of the community, the electronic format of the bib record follow the troubleshooting workflow to export the correct format bib record to the IZ from OCLC Connexion and relink
  9. Click Next
  10. Click Link to the Community
    • ​​​​​​​Use the following troubleshooting workflow is the follow error message appears: "The selected portfolio already belongs to the selected electronic collection. You can do one of the following: 1. Go back and select another occurrence of the electronic collection; 2. Go back and select another portfolio; 3. Cancel and leave the the standalone portfolio unlinked"

Splitting Physical Inventory from Electronic Bib Record With or Without Electronic Inventory

Relinking holdings records to another bib record:

  1. Perform a All Titles repository search
  2. Click Holdings
  3. Click Relink from the top of the screen or the ellipses of the holdings record
  4. The Search screen opens on the right-hand side of the split screen editor
  5. Click the Zone to be searched (Institution, Network, or Community)
    • The active zone will be blue
  6. Type in search parameters (use the MMS ID, ISBN, OCLC #, etc.)   
    • The OCLC number is "System Number"                                                         
  7. Click Search     
  8. Click Relink from the record on the right-hand side of the split screen editor
    • The Holdings record is now relinked to the new record
  9.  Click Save>Save and Release Record (Ctrl+Alt+R)

Troubleshooting

 

No matching CZ electronic portfolios records and/or the correct electronic collection in the CZ when selecting "Link to Community" from the electronic portfolio:

  1. Export the electronic format bib record to the institution's IZ from OCLC Connexion
  2. Search for the electronic portfolio in the repository using: Electronic portfolio: [Title, Portfolio pid, etc.]: [enter search terms]
  3. Click Edit Portfolio 
  4. Click Relink to another bibliographic record
  5. Choose Title:
    1. Click on the "Select from list" icon
    2. Search for the bib record from step 1 in the IZ
    3. Click on the title
  6. Handling bibliographic records without inventory: [Select "Delete bibliographic record(s)"]
  7. Click Confirm
  8. Click Edit Portfolio
  9. Click Attach to Another Collection
  10. Click the "Select from list" icon
  11. Search for the collection the electronic portfolio will be attached to
  12. Click on the collection name
  13. Click Confirm


Do not want to use the descriptive metadata of the community when selecting "Link to Community:"

  1. Export the correct electronic format bib record from OCLC Connexion to the IZ
  2. Search for the electronic portfolio using an "Electronic Portfolios" repository search
  3. Click Edit Portfolio
  4. Click Relink to another bibliographic record
  5. Choose Title:
    1. Click on the "Select from list" icon
    2. Search for the bib record from step 1 in the IZ
    3. Click on the title
  6. Handling bibliographic records without inventory: [Select "Delete bibliographic record(s)"]
  7. Click Confirm
  8. Perform a repository search for the new electronic portfolio for the title
  9. Click Link to Community from the ellipses
  10. Choose title: 
    1. Click the "Select from list" icon
    2. Search for the CZ bib record the electronic portfolio should be linked to
    3. Click on the record
    4. Handling bibliographic records without inventory: [Select "Delete bibliographic record(s)]
  11. Click Confirm
  12. Click Cancel or Save
    1. Cancel - if no changes have been made to the electronic portfolio
    2. Save - if changes have been made to the electronic portfolio

 

"The selected portfolio already belongs to the selected electronic collection:

  1. Click Cancel when the error message appears stating “The selected portfolio already belongs to the selected electronic collection”
  2. Delete the electronic portfolio instead of using the "Link to Community" workflow because it already exists
    1. Click Delete from the ellipses of the portfolio
    2. Handling bibliographic records without inventory: [Select "Delete bibliographic record(s)"]
    3. Click Confirm