Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Alma Resource Management

Working with the Metadata Editor in the Institution and Network Zones. Includes indication and normalization rules.

Prediction Patterns (Serials)

Prediction patterns are used to create serial items in advance for receiving and claiming purposes. Prediction patterns allows users to:

  • Track and predict future items 
  • Easier and more efficient check-in
  • Naming consistency 
  • Claiming


MARC Holdings fields 853, 854, 855 can be added:

  1. Using “Expand from template” 
    • Allows the user to select a pre-existing templates to populate MARC fields
    • The pre-existing MARC holdings fields can be edited 
  2. Manually 
    • User can add MARC holdings 853, 854, or 855 with associated fields

 

Multi-level serials prediction patterns can be created in a MARC Holdings record for more complex serials, such as a monthly serials with an annual index and an annual supplement:

  1. 853 is used for the basic serial pattern of monthly
  2. 854 is used to predict the annual supplement
  3. 855 is used to predict the annual index


Note: Predicted items use the “Issue date” from the "Next Predicted Items Information" + “Subscription interval” from the POL to create the Expected date of arrival
 

Roles Required

One of the following roles are required to create or edit holdings records:

  • Physical Inventory Operator
  • Physical Inventory Operator Limited
  • Purchase Manager
  • Purchase Operator
  • Repository Manager

Requirements to Use Prediction Patterns

Requirements to use prediction patterns in Alma:

  1. Description templates configured
    • Description templates are used to create description formatting for display in the item record and Primo VE
    • Will use the default description template if other description templates have not been configured
  2. Associated POL with a POL type of Journal - Subscription
    • Predicted items use the Issue date + Subscription interval to create the Expected date of arrival
  3. Active subscription
    • Subscription from date is within the range of the items being predicted
  4. POL status of “Waiting for renewal”
  5. MARC Holdings field 853, 854, or 855:
    • Publication frequency and dates are created from these fields
  6. Next predicted item information
  7. Expected item populated

MARC Holdings Records - Basics

MARC Holdings Records contain 4 basic components:

  1. Location
    • where the item can be found in the library
  2. Items held
    • Monograph: Number of copies
    • Multi-part: Number of volumes in a set
    • Serials : Volumes and issues
  3. Publication patterns (serials only)
    • Expected publication date
    • Issue number(s)
  4. Notes
    • Information associated with the item
    • Holdings statements (library has)

Values to Use in Alma for Year or Season

Prediction patterns use numeric values to represent months and seasons, unless description templates have been configured to allow the user to use the alphabetic representation of the month or season.
 


 

 

MARC Holdings 853/854/855

Required MARC Holdings fields for publication patterns:

  • 853 - Captions and Pattern - Basic Bibliographic Unit
    • Series volumes 
    • Journal issues
  • 854 - Captions and Pattern-Supplementary Material
    • Supplement
    • Loose-leaf releases
  • 855 - Captions and Pattern-Indexes
    • Includes indexes


MARC 853, 854, and 855 are made up of:

  • Enumeration captions
    • $$a - $$h
  • Chronology captions
    • $$i - $$m
  • Publication pattern subfields
    • $$u - $$y
  • Other fields and subfields
    • $$t – Copy
    • $$8 – Field link and sequence number
    • 590 – Local holdings notes field

Other MARC Holdings Fields (Not Required for Publication Patterns)

Other MARC Holdings fields (not required for publication patterns in Alma):

  • 863 -865: Enumeration and  chronology (numbering and dates)
    • 863: Enumeration and Chronology - Basic Bibliographic Unit is used with MARC 853
    • 864: Enumeration and Chronology – Supplementary Material is used with MARC 854
    • 865: Enumeration and Chronology – Captions and Patterns – Indexes is used with MARC 855
    • 863-865 are not used to create prediction patterns in Alma
  • 866-868 – textual holdings (free-text enumeration and chronology information)
    • Can be used instead with 853-855/863-865 combination
      • 866: Textual Holdings – Basic Bibliographic Unit is used with MARC 853
      • 867: Textual Holdings – Supplementary Material is used with MARC 854
      • 868: Textual Holdings - Indexes is used with MARC 854
    • 866-868 are not used to create prediction patterns in Alma
  • 876-878 – item level information about the copy
    • Used with MARC 852
    • 876-878 are not used to create prediction patterns in Alma
       

Required to Use Prediction Patterns in Alma

The following is required to use prediction patterns in Alma:

  1. Description templates configured
  2. Associated POL with a POL type of Journal - Subscription
  3. Active subscription
  4. MARC Holdings field 853, 854, or 855:
  5. Next predicted item information
  6. Expected item(s) populated
     

Description templates are used to format the item description for display in the item record and in Primo VE. Alma will use the default description template if no other description templates have not been configured by the institution. Description templates are created based on ANSI NISO standards or an institution’s internal policy. 

One of the following roles is required to configure description templates:

  • Repository Administrator
  • Catalog Administrator
  • General Administrator
     

To configure description templates:

  1. Go to Configuration>Resources>General>Description Templates
  2. Click Add Rule
  3. Description Template Setup screen opens:
    1. Name: [Type in a name for the rule]
    2. Description: [Add description of the rule]
    3. Click Add Parameter
      1. Add parameters based on the rule with the appropriate conditions
      2. Add as many parameters as necessary
    4. Fill out the Output Parameters based on the rule
    5. Click Show Template to view how it will display
  4. Click Save

Detailed FAQ on configuring description templateshttps://slcny.libguides.com/c.php?g=986218&p=8187563

Requirements for the associated POL with an active subscription:

  • POL type of Print Journal – Subscription/Physical – Subscription
  • POL status of “Waiting for renewal”
  • Subscription interval
  • Subscription from date is within the range of the items being predicted


From the POL and the "Next predicted item's information" the expected date of arrival is determined:

“Issue date” + “Subscription interval” = “Expected date of arrival”
 

  • MARC 853, 854, and/or 855 are required to created publication patterns in Alma
    • The publication frequency and dates for expected items are created from these fields
  • MARC Holdings fields 853, 854, 855 can be added:
    1. Using “Expand from template” 
      • Allows the user to select a pre-existing templates to populate MARC fields
    2. The pre-existing MARC holdings fields can be edited 
      • Manually 
      • User can manually add MARC holdings 853, 854, or 855 with associated fields
  • Multi-level serials prediction patterns can be created in a MARC Holdings record for more complex serial for example; a monthly serials with an annual index and annual supplement:
    • 853 is used for the basic serial pattern of monthly
    • 854 is used to predict the annual supplement
    • 855 is used to predict the annual index


To add a MARC holdings 853 using a template:

  1. Open the physical serials record in the MD Editor
  2. Click Editing Actions>Expand from template (Ctrl+E)
  3. “Expand from Template” screen pops-up
    • Choose Template: [Select the template from the drop-down]
    • Applying Method: [Select one of the methods]
      • Override - will override existing MARC holdings fields with the MARC holdings fields in the template
      • Add Missing - will only add missing MARC holdings fields in the template
      • Add All - will add all MARC holdings fields in the template and may create duplication
  4. Click Ok
  5. Fields from the template have been added
  6. Edit MARC 853 if applicable
  7. Edit MARC 590 if applicable
  8. Add corresponding 863 (not required for prediction patterns)
  9. Click Editing Actions>Add Field (F8)
    1. Type 863 in the MARC tag
    2. Select the appropriate indicators
    3. Add appropriate subfields
  10. Click the Save icon

NOTE: MARC Holdings 853 is being used as the example, but the same workflow can also be applied to MARC holdings 854 and 855.

To populate the "Next predicted item information": 

  1. Click into MARC 853 
  2. Click on Record Actions>Next Predicted Item’s Information
  3. The “Next Predicted Items” screen pops-up
    • Populate the enumeration/chronology fields from MARC 853
    • Edit the "Issue Date" if applicable
  4. Click Close


Next Predicted Item's Information Pop-up Screen
 

To populate the “Expected Item Information”:

  1. Click Record Actions>Open Predicted items
  2. The “Predicted Items” screen pop-ups
    1. Review the predicted item description information
    2. Click one:
      1. Discard
        • Click discard if the description information is incorrect
        • Edit the “Next predicted items information” and/or MARC 853
      2. Save
        • If the description information looks correct
  3. Save and Release (Ctrl+Alt+R) the holdings record after the predicted items have been generated


 

Creating Next Items for Receiving from the "List of Items"

To create new predicted items from the “List of Items” the following is required:

  1. MARC 853, 854, and/or 855 in the MARC holdings record
  2. Previously predicted items that contain:
    • Next predicted item information
    • Expected item populated


To created new predicted items from the “List of Items”

  1. Perform a repository search for the serials title
  2. Click Items from the ellipses
  3. Click the Manage Selected drop-down menu
  4. Click Open Predicted Items
  5. Click Save Items


NOTE: Any changes that need to be made to the predicted items and/or serials items publication pattern changes must be done in the MD Editor to be reflected.

Automating Summary Holdings Tasks for Serials

Alma provides an out-of-the-box rules that are applied when holdings records are saved using "MARC21 holding normalize on save." The out-of-the-box tasks included in the "MARC21 holding normalize on save" rule are applied to a holdings record when it is saved and when items are received from predicted items.  Additional tasks can be added to the "MARC21 holding normalize on save" rule that will automate summary holdings tasks for serials. Adding the tasks to the "MARC21 holding normalize on save" rule to automate summary holdings will not impact monograph holdings records.

The following summary holdings tasks for serials holdings records can be added to automate the creation and maintenance of holdings records:

  1. MarcDroolNormalization: (uses normalization rule "SUNY - Remove 863/4/56/7/8 (holdings)")
    1. Remove previous 863/864/865/8666/867/868 fields
      1. Does not remove 863/864/865/8666/867/868 fields if they contain $$8 9 
    2. Creates new updated 863/864/865/8666/867/868 fields to reflect the latest holdings information
  2. MARC21 Expand Holding By 863/4/5 Task:  
    • Creates the 863/864/865 fields
  3. MARC21 Expand Holding By 866/7/8 Task:
    • Uses the results of “MARC21 Expand Holding By 863/4/5" Task to create the 866/867/868 fields


Adding the three additional tasks will, when added in the correct order, delete MARC 863/864/865 and MARC 866/867/868 and created new MARC 863/864/864 and 866/867/888 automatically when items are received under Acquisitions>Receiving and Invoicing>Receive


To edit the "MARC21 holding normalize on save" rule to automate summary holdings tasks:

IMPORTANT!!! READ BEFORE PROCEEDING:  It is recommended to run a MARC holdings normalization rule/process on existing serials holdings records and add "$$8 9" to the MARC 863/864/865/866/867/868 fields the institution wants to retain prior to adding the additional tasks to automate summary holdings in Alma. If "$$8 9"  is not added to these fields prior to adding the additional tasks, they will be deleted the next time the holdings record is saved or a predicted item is received. Note that any additional 866/867/868 will display in Primo VE with the library's holdings, which may cause confusion for the end user depending on how they have been structured.
 

  1. Go to Configuration>Resources>Cataloging>Metadata Configuration
  2. Click on MARC21 Holding
  3. Click on the Normalization Process tab
  4. Click Edit from the ellipses of "MARC21 holding normalize on save"
  5. Click on the Task List tab
  6. Click Add Task
  7. Check the boxes next to:
    1. MarcDroolNormalization
    2. MARC21 Expand Holding By 863/4/5 Task
    3. MARC21 Expand Holding By 866/7/8 Task
  8. Use the arrows to recorder the tasks in the following order so they work correctly:
    1. 852 normalization field (in the original rule)
    2. MarcDroolNormalization
    3. MARC21 Expand Holding By 863/4/5 Task
    4. MARC21 Expand Holding By 866/7/8 Task
    5. MARC21HoldingClearEmptyFieldsTask (in the original rule)
  9. Click Add and Close
  10. Click on the Task Parameters tab
  11. Select the Drools file key: "SUNY - Remove 863/4/5/6/7/8 (holdings)"
    • The  "SUNY - Remove 863/4/5/6/7/8 (holdings)" rule must be duplicated as a local normalization rule in order for an institution to use it in the "MARC21 holding normalize on save" rule
  12. Click Save



"SUNY - Remove 863/4/5/6/7/8 (holdings)" normalization rule:

Below is the "SUNY - Remove 863/4/5/6/7/8 (holdings)" normalization rule:

rule "delete 863 4 5 6 7 8 if it does not have subfield 8 9"
when
  (TRUE)
then
  removeField "863" if (not exists "863.8.9")
  removeField "864" if (not exists "864.8.9")
  removeField "865" if (not exists "865.8.9")
  removeField "866" if (not exists "866.8.9")
  removeField "867" if (not exists "867.8.9")
  removeField "868" if (not exists "868.8.9")
end

To duplicate the "SUNY - Remove 863/4/5/6/7/8 (holdings)" normalization rule:

  1. Open the MD Editor 
    • The old MD Editor must be used until the March 2021 release
  2. Click File>Options
    1. Click the radio button next to local for the "Placement of new rules"
    2. Click Save
  3. Click Rules
  4. Expand the Normalization rules folder
  5. Expand the Shared Folder
  6. Left Click on the "SUNY - Remove 863/4/5/6/7/8 (holdings)" rule
  7. Click Duplicate
  8. Edit the Name to begin with your institutions Alma three letter identifier
  9. Make sure Shared and Enabled are selected
  10. Click Save