Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Alma Resource Management

Working with the Metadata Editor in the Institution and Network Zones. Includes indication and normalization rules.

Important Information

The work the is described in this page are no longer being used as of March 2022. The most up-to-date workflows based on subject heading changes by the Library of Congress on November 12, 2021 can be found here: https://slcny.libguides.com/c.php?g=986218&p=7623203

Phased Rollout

In June 2020, the SUNY Library Consortia began implementing the Local Subject Heading Initiative to change Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) from "illegal aliens" and "aliens" to "undocumented immigrants," "immigrants," or "noncitizens." Due to the complexity of this project, the Local Subject Heading Initiative will be rolled out in phases:

 

Phased Rolled Out Impact

 

Display Normalization Rules for PrimoVE Display (June 2020)

Phase 1: IMPLEMENTED on 6/19/2020! 

PrimoVE "subject" display normalization rules have been changed for MARC fields 600 and 650 to:

  • Display local subject headings in the full records display in PrimoVE, instead of the LOC subject headings in the bibliographic record. 
  • Allow 650 _7 with $2 Change the Subject Project to display once phase 2 and 3 have been implemented
  • Incorporate library customizations with changes to the "subject" display normalization rules 

Searching for resources in PrimoVE with LOC subject headings containing "illegal aliens" and "aliens" will:

  • Still be required to be searched by the LOC authorized subject headings containing "illegal aliens" or "aliens." Note: Due to the Display norm rules, the records will not display LOC authorized subject headings with "illegal aliens" or "aliens."

NOTE: The subject heading "aliens" has been omitted from displaying due to the complexity of discerning which records use "aliens" as a subject heading to reference extraterrestrials or for human beings.  
 

 
Display Normalization Rules script is available below:

Normalization Rules Applied to Physical Bibliographic Records (June 2020)

PHASE 2 & 3: IMPLEMENTATION COMPLETED ON 8/23/2020! 

Normalization rules will be applied to all existing physical bibliographic records in Alma at both the Institution (IZ) and Network (NZ) Zones and IZ only electronic records that contain LCSH with "illegal aliens" and "aliens." The same normalization rules will be applied to all Import and Integration Profiles that are being used for IZ only physical and electronic bibliographic records and for NZ linked physical bibliographic records.

Local Subject Heading (LSH) Initiative normalization rules in Alma will:

  • Change the second indicator for LCSH containing "illegal aliens" or "aliens" in MARC 650 to "7" 
  • Add $2 Change the Subject Project to MARC 650 _7. $2 Change the Subject Project allows the user to identify the bibliographic records that have been modified by the SUNY LSH Initiative normalization rules in Alma.

IZ only physical bibliographic records and electronic records that contain LCSH with "illegal aliens" or "aliens" will be changed upon import to reflect the Normalized Subject Headings in the chart below. 

Searching for IZ only records will need to be search in PrimoVE using the SUNY LSH in the chart below.

Please note: The term "aliens" has not been impacted by normalization rules due to the inability to distinguish when the term is being use to describe human beings or extraterrestrials. The subject heading "aliens" will use "subject" display normalization rules to omit the LCSH from displaying in the full record view in PrimoVE.

The Local Subject Normalization Rule is available to view below:

The SUNY Normalization Rule for Import and Integration Profiles impacting physical bibliographic records in Alma is available to view below:

Record without the local subject heading normalization rules applied:

Alma Bib Record Display Without Norm Rules Applied
 

Record with the local subject heading normalization rules applied:

650 Second Indicator 7 with Subfield 2 Change the Subject Project

Display in PrimoVE:

PrimoVE display of with Alma Norm Rules Applied