Skip to main content
 

Office of Library and Information Services (OLIS)

General Documentation

The following information applies to both the SUNY Open Access Repository and the SUNY Digital Repository.

Sub-Communities & Collections

Creating a Sub-community:
  •   Select a Community from the homepage
  •   On the left, under ‘Context’ click ‘Create Sub-community’
  •   Enter a Sub-community name and short description
  •   Enter additional information if necessary (i.e., Introductory text, Copyright text, News)
  •   Add a Sub-community logo if available by uploading an image
  •   Click the 'Create' button
Creating a Collection
  • Best Practice - campuses can create their own collections, but we offer to do this for them as we know how to assign authorizations appropriately.
  •   Select a Community from the homepage
  •   On the left, under ‘Context’ click ‘Create Collection’
  •   Enter a Collection name and short description
  •   Enter additional information if necessary (i.e., Introductory text, Copyright text, News, License, Provenance)
  •   Add a Collection logo if available by uploading an image
  •   Click the 'Create' button

Collection Items

Editing metadata after an item has been submitted:
  • Go to item
  • On the left, under ‘Context’ click ‘Edit this item’
  • Click ‘Item Metadata’ from the tabs
  • Edit metadata & then click ‘Update’
Removing an Item  
  • Options
    • Withdraw - logical deletion; it can be restored and used to track what has been available to the public.  Use case – staging area for item to remove when copyright issues arise
    • Make it private – will not appear in browse or other search lists.  Use case – hide an old version of an item in case the version is no longer appropriate; hide items in the repository such as support materials used by administrators
    • Permanently delete – physical deletion; no way to retrieve an item after it has been deleted.  Use case – true entry mistake; or testing input of items that are not part of the repository
  • Go to item
  • On the left, under ‘Context’ click ‘Edit this item’
  • Under ‘Item Status’, the three options will be listed – click on what is appropriate

User Accounts & Groups

Creating an account:
  •   On the left, under 'Administrative' > 'Access Control' click 'People'
  •   Create a new E-Person by clicking 'Click here to add a new E-Person' at the top of the page
  •   Enter user's information and check the 'Can Log In' checkbox
  •   Click the 'Create E-Person' button
Verifying account exists:
  •  On the left, under 'Administrative' > 'Access Control' click 'People'
  •   Verify account exists via 'Search for E-People:' by email address
Troubleshooting login issues:
  •  On the left, under 'Administrative' > 'Access Control' click 'People'
  •  Lookup user account via 'Search for E-People:' by email address ]
  •  Click on the user's name or email address to view the account
  •  Make sure 'Can Log In' is selected
  •  If this is already selected, click the 'Reset Password' button which will send the user an email with a link to do so
Creating a group:

Best Practice

  •  Create user groups according to the desired authorizations using a campus three-letter prefix:
  •  ZZZ_Admins - put all users who need to have administrative privileges in this group
  •  ZZZ_Submitters - put all users who need to submit to a collection in these groups, you may need to make separate groups for different collections if the campus requires this
  • ZZZ_Users - these are for collections for which the campus may have requested a “lock down” by removing the Anonymous public user access.  

Process

  •  On the left, under 'Administrative' > 'Access Control' click 'Groups'
  •  Create a new Group by clicking 'Click here to add a new Group' at the top of the page
  •  Enter the group's name
  •  'Search members to add' by email address, clicking the 'E-People' button, to the right of the search box
  •  Click the 'Add' button, to the right of the user's email address
  •  Click the 'Save' button to save your changes
Assigning permissions to a group:
  •  On the left, under ‘Administrative’ > ‘Access Control’ click ‘Authorizations’
  •  Select the Community or Subcommunity or Collection (keep in mind that permissions cascade down the hierarchy of community/subcommunity/collection so that an Admin at the Community or Subcommunity level will also be an Admin for any subcommunities and collections below in the hierarchy)
  •  ‘Click here to add a new policy’
  •  Select the action
  •  Select the group the action is associated with
  •  Click on Save
To apply permissions to a specific collection only
  •  On the left, under 'Administrative' > 'Access Control' click 'Authorizations'
  •  Go to the Advanced authorizations tool by clicking 'Click here to go to the item wildcard policy admin tool' link at the top of the page
  •  Select the group from the list
  •  Choose an Action from the drop-down menu (grant the ability to perform an action)
  •  Required – choose the Collection(s)
  •  Optional - assign additional details (content type, start date, end date)
  •   Click the 'Add Policies’ button to save your changes

 For more information review this video by Atmire on the Advance Policy Manager Wildcard tool https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PFlq-yGSPY4

Assigning a user to a group
  •  On the left, under 'Administrative' > 'Access Control' click 'People'
  •  Verify account exists via 'Search for E-People:' by email address
  •  On the left, under 'Administrative' > 'Access Control' click 'Groups'
  •  'Search for groups:' by campus code, click on group name
  •  'Search members to add' by email address, clicking the 'E-People' button, to the right of the search box
  •  Click the 'Add' button, to the right of the user's email address
  •  Click the 'Save' button to save your changes