Skip to main content
 

Office of Library and Information Services (OLIS)

Repositories Overview

Both  the SUNY Open Access Repository (SOAR) and the SUNY Digital Repository (SDR) are built on the DSpace platform.  The Office of Library and Information Services (OLIS) works with the registered DSpace Service Provider Atmire to provide hosting and technical support.  SOAR is based on a version of DSpace called Open Repository which provides for enhanced statistics, author profiles, integration with 3rd party services, and more powerful tools for administrators.  The SDR is based on a version called DSpace Express which provides a basic  affordable full service repository.   

Characteristics of both repositories

  • Allow for the creation of communities, sub-communities and collections
  • Records for items representing content are housed in collections which can be linked to either communities or sub-communities
  • Item records in one collection can be linked to other collections so that the content can appear in multiple collections
  • Dublin Core metadata schema is used for describing content  
  • Web interface is used by authorized contributors to add items to collections  
  • Creative Commons licenses can be assigned to content
  • While various file formats are supported, the most common are PDF, Word, JPEG, MPEG, and TIFF files
  • Players are not provided for either audio or video content  
  • Due to their large size, contributors are asked to store video files in YouTube or other types of streaming services; links in item records can be added for accessing these videos

User Accounts

  • Each campus environment will assign administrator(s) for their local community
  • Roles are to be assigned for the entire campus environment or for specific sub-communities and/or collections
  • Roles – while a campus administrator is required, the other roles are optional.  These optional roles can be at the sub-community and/or collection level
    • Administrator – will be the administrator for the entire campus environment including all subcommunities and collections.  Can assign roles based on sub-community/collections, create sub-communities and collections, and add/edit content and metadata.   
    • Submitter – have permission to submit new items to designated collections
    • Reviewer – ability to accept or reject incoming submissions; they are not able to edit submitted metadata
    • Editor – ability to edit metadata of incoming submissions then accept or reject  

Support

  • Based on discussion and input from campuses, the Office of Library and Information Services (OLIS) staff will configure the community, sub-community, collection structure and the user accounts.
  • While both repositories are built on the same platform, there are some differences in how they have been implemented within the SUNY shared environment.  Please review the additional information specific to SOAR and SDR.   
  • Documentation is available in the associated pages.
  • If you are interested in contributing to either SOAR or SDR, please submit a request through the Support portal.