Skip to main content

SUNY Shared LSP Overview

SUNY Library Shared Services Team

  • Shannon Pritting, SUNY Library Shared Services Director
  • Michelle Eichelberger, Discovery and E-Resources Program Manager
  • Tim Jackson, Fulfillment and Resource Sharing Program Manager
  • Jennifer Koerber, Training Specialist
  • Kristy Lee, New Paltz, Project Manager
  • Maggie McGee, Network Zone Coordinator
  • Gail Pawlowski, Sr. Alma Support Specialist
  • Susan Perry, Support Specialist
  • Jennifer Smathers, Support Coordinator
  • Esta Tovstiadi, Support Specialist

Contact Information: info@slcny.libanswers.com

November 2019 Stats

LibAnswers:
November turnaround stats    


FAQs Created in November 2019:  

How to attach a local electronic portfolio to an electronic collection in the CZ?  Alana Nuth

How do I configure hold notification delays?  Tim Jackson

How do I configure the new method of exporting unfilled resource sharing requests from Alma to ILLiad?  Tim Jackson

How does the new method for exporting unfilled resource sharing requests from Alma to ILLiad work?  Tim Jackson

What is Unpaywall, why should I use it, and how do I set it up?  Michelle Eichelberger

What is the Community Zone Updates Task List and what should I do with it?  Michelle Eichelberger

How do I unsuppress a bib record in Alma?  Margaret McGee

How do I get my proxy to work on collections that use "link in record" linking?  Michelle Eichelberger

How do I receive a Standing Order monograph?  Margaret McGee  

How can I stop related titles (MARC 776) from linking from a Primo VE full record?  Michelle Eichelberger

How do I make changes to the OCLC Master Record?  Margaret McGee

How Do I Create Courses and Place Items on Reserve?  Margaret McGee

How do I re-open a one-time POL?  Margaret McGee

How do I close a one-time POL that has been re-opened and is in review?  Margaret McGee

How do I create a one-time POL for a title with multiple volumes?  Margaret McGee

How to I activate, edit, test, and set retention periods for letters in Alma?  Tim Jackson

How can I set up Reprints Desk and limit it to selective journals and user groups?  Michelle Eichelberger

How do I relink/move an item record to another bib record?  Margaret McGee

Can I perform an Alma z39.50 search from within ILLiad?  Tim Jackson

What do I do when a new order import job status says "Manual Handling Required"?  Margaret McGee 

How do we change our link resolver in WorldCat so that requests go through Alma Resource Sharing?  Michelle Eichelberger

How do I place a request for a patron?  Tim Jackson

How to group multiple local portfolios into a local electronic collection?  Alana Nuth


Nov FAQ views


Presentations and Workshops 

October 2019 Stats

LibAnswers:
turnaround oct 2019    answerer stats oct 2019


FAQs Created in October 2019:  

What type of records are in the IZ, NZ, and the CZ? Margaret McGee

Why can't I close a POL for an electronic - one time POL? Margaret McGee

How do I set up Auto-holdings for Sciencedirect or other databases like Ovid or Springer? Michelle Eichelberger

How do I get a PO out of review? Margaret McGee

How can I change the way my facets display in Primo VE, and how can I troubleshoot display problems? Michelle Eichelberger

How can I control what bib record content displays in the brief record in my results list? Michelle Eichelberger

Is there any benefit to setting a timeout limit for guest users? Michelle Eichelberger

How does “Did you mean” or "Did you intend to search for" work, where does it come from, and can you disable it? Michelle Eichelberger

What browsers are supported for use with Primo VE? Michelle Eichelberger

How do I unlink a bib record from the NZ? Margaret McGee

How do I configure the "Share With Network" function in the MD Editor to match the NZ configuration? Margaret McGee

How do I link an Institutional Zone (IZ) record with the NZ using "Share with Network"? Margaret McGee

When would I use "Share with Network" in the MD Editor? Margaret McGee

Where do I make changes/corrections/additions to a Network Zone (NZ) bib record? Margaret McGee

How do I create an IZ OCLC export for Alma? Margaret McGee

How do I apply the NZ normalization rule to the IZ for an IZ integration or import profile? Margaret McGee

How do I set up the OCLC Connexion Web Client to export bib records into the NZ? Margaret McGee

Why is the IZ OCLC Export Profile not working? Margaret McGee

What should I do if I receive a resource sharing request for an article? Tim Jackson

How Do I Change My Link Resolver to Alma in Ebsco Admin? Shannon Pritting

How do I create a resource sharing lending deflection? Tim Jackson

How do I run usage reports for Primo? Esta Tovstiadi

What's the best way to find electronic collections activated by SUNY campuses in the NZ? Michelle Eichelberger

How do I move the active POL to the new Serial title and retain the item records on the previous serial title? Margaret McGee

faq views oct 2019


Presentations and Workshops 

September 2019 Stats

LibAnswers:
turnaround sept 2019    answerer stats sept 2019


FAQs Created in September 2019:  

Where does the peer review indicator come from? Michelle Eichelberger

Are table of contents notes displayed and searchable in Primo VE? Nancy Babb

How long should things like activating e-collections, making changes to the Primo VE interface, indexing, etc. take to fully show up in the system so we can know when to test? Michelle Eichelberger

Can I modify the citation function in Primo VE? Michelle Eichelberger

How does the email function work in Primo VE and what do I do if it isn't working? Michelle Eichelberger

How do I renew an item? Jennifer Koerber

Can local MARC fields be searched in an Alma repository search? Margaret McGee

How do I delete a bib record that has no inventory and is no longer held by my institution in the NZ, but shows the bib record is still linked to the NZ? Margaret McGee

Where can advanced analytics training and information be found? Wendi Ackerman

Why didn't the brief bib record get updated after I added the OCLC#, saved the record, and exported the record from OCLC to the NZ? Margaret McGee

How to display the total number of rows in an analytics report Wendi Ackerman

Can the session time-out be increased for fulfillment/Circulation functions? Margaret McGee

Should I turn on publishing for Salesforce cases, and if so, how do I do that? Michelle Eichelberger

How do I suppress item records for serials that are generated from prediction patterns that have not been received? Margaret McGee

I "Deleted" a PO Line during creation and the bib record is now linked to the NZ. How do I remove the record from the IZ and unlink it from the NZ? Margaret McGee

How to I create an NZ brief bib record for Ordering purposes? Margaret McGee

How can I delete a POL template? Margaret McGee

How do I change the default location for new POLs? Margaret McGee

Is there a way to print the results from browse shelf list in the Alma MD Editor? Margaret McGee

Do you need to activate the corresponding PCI collection for your Alma collection in order to get article level indexing to work? Michelle Eichelberger

How does the new Quick Print function work? Tim Jackson

How can you change a technical-migration process type to missing? Margaret McGee

How do I remove the missing item status? Margaret McGee

How do I change/mark an item record as missing? Margaret McGee

What's the best way to print a list of results from Primo VE? Michelle Eichelberger

faq views sept 2019


Presentations and Workshops 

August 2019 Stats

LibAnswers:
response time August 2019   answerer stats august 2019


FAQs Created in August 2019:  

How is an Alma analytics report used to create a set in Alma? Wendi Ackerman

Which roles are needed to work in Alma Analytics? Wendi Ackerman

How do I configure the new Printout Queue function, and how does it work? Tim Jackson

What do I need to do to keep my resource sharing request lists clean? Tim Jackson

Are catalogers responsible for removing fields from OCLC records that are on the current list of fields to keep out of the Network Zone? Margaret McGee

How do I associate a continuous POL to an existing serials or standing order holdings record? Margaret McGee

How do I process resource sharing borrowing requests? Tim Jackson

How come I cannot find the normalization rule I created when I try to run a job using the normalization rule? Margaret McGee

How can I change the location on a set of item records? Margaret McGee

How can I change a POL status from Sent to Closed? Margaret McGee

What do I do when I see this message in the MD Editor for and NZ bib record: "An external process has changed the original record..." Margaret McGee

How do I reduce the number of matching bib records a bib record is matching with in the MD Editor? Margaret McGee

Can I run the "Update PO lines Information- Advanced" to change a POL from electronic to print or vice versa? Margaret McGee

Is there a way to turn off the PO line claiming - process automation job? Margaret McGee

The item was ordered on the the bib record, how do I relink the POL, holdings, and items to the correct NZ bib record if I am still able to edit the POL? Margaret McGee

Where does the Resource Type display in Primo VE come from? Margaret McGee

How do I change a location on a set of records and also have the holdings MARC 852 $$k change the location as well? Margaret McGee

Is it possible to turn off the Acquisition Technical Services work order that is created when the Circulation Desk adds an item to an existing holding using Quick Cataloging? Margaret McGee

Can I delete a bib record from our IZ that has no inventory? Margaret McGee

How do I get an POL out of review that migrated with an Acquisitions Method of Purchase? Margaret McGee

How do we stop getting invoices to be waiting for payment? We are not using ERP and we want them to close upon creation. Margaret McGee

How do I link an IZ record to the NZ? Margaret McGee

How do I process resource sharing lending requsts? Tim Jackson

Do we need to continue changing the OCLC holdings symbol in MARC field 049 in the OCLC master record? Margaret McGee

How can I remove the call number from the holding record? Margaret McGee

How do I create a provenance code? Margaret McGee

How do I retrieve the OCLC number in an analytics report? Margaret McGee

How do I search by OCLC number in Alma? Margaret McGee

Can you have more than one holding record per location? Margaret McGee

Why are diacritics displaying strangely in Alma and Primo VE from an OCLC record I exported? Margaret McGee

How long does it take for an OCLC master record I updated in OCLC Connexion to show up in the NZ? Margaret McGee

How do I suppress dedup/FRBR for IZ records only in PrimoVE Margaret McGee

What is the IP range for Alma and Primo to be whitelisted? Kristy Lee

How do I process a lending request with a status of Locate Failed? Tim Jackson

august FAQ views


Presentations and Workshops 

August 6 & 7: Primo VE Meeting with Ex Libris at University at Buffalo - Shannon Pritting & Michelle Eichelberger
 

July 2019 Stats