This session will cover how Library of Congress Subject Headings and Classification systems perpetuate a White, cis-oriented Western world view, and presents concrete strategies for finding works by diverse and historically underrepresented voices. Implicit bias in library catalogs make it difficult to search for and locate works representing historically marginalized voices, such as people of the global majority, people with disabilities, people identifying as LBGTQIA+, etc. Marianne Hebert (SUNY Potsdam) developed a research guide to assist faculty in diversifying their classes, and in the process learned how pervasive implicit bias is in library discovery systems. Led by Marianne Hebert and Maggie McGee (10/20/2021).
Primo Collection Discovery is a great way to highlight library materials to help students and faculty discover resources. Marianne Hebert (Potsdam) has used this feature to create e-book and encyclopedia collections to support research on diversity topics. This session will cover basics of Alma Collections Management, as well as tips and tricks on how to approach building a collection from scratch. Join Marianne and Michelle Eichelberger for this valuable session! (10/19/21)
This session will cover how to identify physical bib records with bad/corrupted diacritics and how to clean them up. The focus is on IZ only records, but the same processes can be applied to NZ bib records. Led by Maggie McGee (10/12/2021)
The new MD Editor exclusive use will take place on October 3, 2021 with the October release. This session was a two-hour informal session that covered navigating the new MD Editor, changes to the new MD Editor layout and functionality, and answered questions related to workflows in the new MD Editor. Led by Maggie McGee (9/28/2021)
Review of SUNY Library Accessibility Cohort, SLS Accessibility Toolkit and Vendor Repository, opportunities to get involved. Presented by Shannon Pritting, Yvonne Kester, and Michelle Eichelberger. 2021/09/16
This session will cover role required to configure Description Templates, benefits of configuring Description Templates, enumeration & chronology basics, configuring Description Templates, and configuring Description Templates to displays months as text instead of a numeric value. Led by Maggie McGee (8/31/2021)
Review of maintaining selective and aggregator collections including using import profiles or the portfolio loader to add new titles, optimizing CDI settings, adding end dates for cancelled titles, and other aspects of collection management. Michelle Eichelberger (2021/08/24)
This session will cover the following resource management related tune-up projects: Moving items out of technical-migration status Moving items out of temporary locations in batch. How to identify items in Using analytics to find items in -1, GEN, NULL, Unknown locations. Identifying bib records without inventory Configuring Enumeration/Chronology templates for serials. Led by Maggie McGee (8/17/2021)
This sessions is geared towards community colleges whose fiscal year ends on 8/31/2021.This session will cover how to rollover the fiscal year in Alma. It covers step by step instructions on how to rollover ledgers and rollover PO Lines. Led by Maggie McGee (8/10/2021)
Reviewed best practices for identifying, managing, and cleaning up e-resources in Alma. The session also covered the basics of analyzing how Alma and Primo are (or are not) working well together. Michelle Eichelberger (2021/08/05)
Learn how to purge patrons in Alma efficiently and carefully. The session will include both slides and a live demo.
Recommended prerequisites: Alma Sets and Jobs; Alma Analytics Basics; understanding of user records in Alma. by Yvonne Kester, 07-28-2021
This session covers Required roles, extending the closing ledger’s fiscal grace periods, rollover ledgers, changing the fiscal period displays in the ledger, deleting a ledger if it did not rollover as expected, marking One-time PO Lines (POLs) as fully invoiced, rollover PO Lines (POLs), closing the previous fiscal year period, and making changes to funds and ledgers for the new fiscal year. Led by Maggie McGee (2021/6/8)
Reviewed how the migration will impact you and your patrons, what to do to prepare, and what to expect when the system comes back up. Presented by Shannon Pritting, Tim Jackson, and Michelle Eichelberger (2021/05/17)
This session covers how to create a normalization process from an existing norm rule, how to run the normalization process on a set of records, and how to delete a normalization process. Led by Maggie McGee (2021/5/11)
Reviewed best practices for resolving problems with missing or brief records in the CZ. Covered reasons why content may be missing, creating local portfolios, enhancing CZ records, and working with local bibliographic records. Michelle Eichelberger and Maggie McGee (2021/04/22)
This session will cover writing basic normalization rules for bib and holdings records using, one condition and one action, one condition and two actions with add a local extension, two conditions using Boolean terms and actions, and using an “if” statement, and testing the Rule in the MD Editor. Led by Maggie McGee (2021/4/13 & 2021/4/20)
This session is an overview of normalization rules in Alma. The session covers; roles, placement options, and normalization rules format, syntax, conditions, and actions. Led by Maggie McGee (2021/3/30)
A panel of librarians from different types of institutions shared their experiences with implementing accessibility compliance and improvement strategies. Facilitated by Carli Spina. Panelists: Colleen Lougen, Noah Roth, Rebecca Oling, Claire Payne, Adam Saunders. (2021/02/11)
This sessions covers new features related to the New MD Editor and Resource Management. It will cover the rollout schedule, tabs for records, templates, and rules, side-by-side editing of searched/browsed records with the primary record, new MD Editor hotkey, holdings roles/scoping, and local call number search index operators. Led by Maggie McGee (2/9/2021)
This sessions covers adding new item records, editing existing item records, mark item records as missing, relinking item records, deleting item records, and suppressing item records. Led by Maggie McGee (11/5/2020)
In this session will cover how to open and release holdings records, view versions, suppressing/unsuppressing holdings records, create new holdings records, editing holdings records, deleting holdings records, and relinking holdings to a different record. Led by Maggie McGee (10/20/2020)
In this session of the New MD Editor Series users will learn to delete IZ only bib records, delete NZ linked bib records, unlink bib records from the NZ using "Copy to Catalog", and link records to the NZ using "Share with Network." Led by Maggie McGee (9/22/2020)
This session covers placement options, opening the form editor, viewing record information, adding local extension, remove local field, suppressing/unsuppressing a record, and releasing records. Led by, Maggie McGee (9/9/2020)
In this session we will go over the changes to the way OCLC now matches records that are set via Alma's publishing profiles to your OCLC bib datasync collection. It will also cover how to reduce the potential for incorrect matching. Led by Maggie McGee (9/1/2020)
Hour long training session where users will learn about the New MD Editor. Learn about "Always on", Switch to the New MD Editor, New Layout, Push to MDE, and Template Display Configuration. Led by Maggie McGee (8/25/2020)
Covered CDI best practices, link resolver vs. link in record collections, changes made by Ex Libris since we went live in May, and troubleshooting tips and tricks. Presented by Michelle Eichelberger (2020/08/20)
The session will go over the New Layout rollout plan, how to enable the New Layout in the Sandbox, navigating the New Alma Layout functionality and features, and how to access a sandbox for users/campuses who do not have access to a Sandbox. Led by Maggie McGee (2020/07/13)
In this session discusses how the "Subject" display norm rules are configured in Alma. How the "Subject" display norm rules impact discovery in PrimoVE. How the Subject display norm rules impact searching in PrimoVE. Led by Maggie McGee.
Join Tim Arnold, Director at Jamestown Community College, and Alana Nuth, Head of Collection Management, SUNY Geneseo, to learn strategies for managing library resource renewals and cancellations. Presented 2020/05/28
Join SLSS to explore strategies for managing e-resource cancellations and renewals. Topics covered include using data to make decisions, communicating with campus stakeholders, and working with vendors. Presented by Esta Tovstiadi 2020/05/21.
Reviewed how to configure discovery import profiles for commonly used external resources like LibGuides and DSpace, and looked at results from data harvested by the profile. Presented by Michelle Eichelberger (2020/02/26)
Reviewed how the Central Discovery Index (CDI) will work in your environment, what to look for in the Migration Report, best practices for e-resources management and testing, and known issues. Presented by the CDI Task Force members (2020/02/21)
Managing column style and format in Column Properties (Criteria tab) and the final look and feel of your report (Results tab), including how to change the number of decimal places in a field, repeating or not repeating data in rows, and adding Views to your reports (such as graphs). Presented by Wendi Ackerman (2020/02/18)
Review of the tools, platforms, and resources available to campuses to train staff on Alma/Primo VE, whether it's new staff, staff in new roles, or refreshers. Walk through the Alma/Primo training guides and learn a few guidelines for constructing meaningful technology hands-on training for staff (and how it's different than bibliographic or research instruction). Presented by Jennifer Koerber (2020/02/12)
Coverd how to search for specific types of e-resources in Alma using a repository search, the different terminology of search indexes related to e-resources and how to find packages shared by SUNY campuses. Presented by Alana Nuth (2020/02/12)
This session covered best practices for troubleshooting linking issues in Primo. Topics covered included how to find root causes that lead to linking problems, strategies to fix linking parameters to improve linking, and learn how proxy systems interact with Primo links. Presented by Michelle Eichelberger (2020/01/29)
In this session learn what indication rules are, why indication rules are used, how to write basics indication rule, and how to filter a set using a basic indication rule, led by Maggie McGee. (2020/01/24)
Setting up Local Holdings Records (LHR) Publishing Profiles in Alma by Maggie McGee (2020/01/09)
Please Note: since the recording OCLC clarified a setting in the LHR datasync collection. Slides 3,4, 22, & 54 have been update to reflect the changes. The Changes were made on slide 3 for e) & f). Instead of choosing No for e) Use Record Status for Processing, select Yes. When you select Yes, a new option will appear, for f) Remove Worldcat Holding When Final LHR Deleted, select Yes. This will allow the holdings to be removed when the final LHR has been deleted in Alma. Slide 4 has an updated image to show for the setting changes. The changes for slides 22 & 54 are regarding the OCLC translation mapping table. I edited the field description to match the holdings subfields in Alma and explain the second 852 $b if for the OCLC holding code if you want to have them display the location in your library in Worldcat.
LSP Monthly Update Webinar Recordings (from March 2018)
Review of how to set up Reprints Desk to work as a link resolver, includes discussion of using Reprints Desk with Article Gateway in ILLiad. Presented by Shannon Pritting, Tim Jackson, and Michelle Eichelberger (2019/12/18)
Ordering eBooks in the IZ walks you through the workflow for how to handle eBooks that are not in the CZ, not in the correct electronic collection, or have very brief bibliographic information by Maggie McGee (2019/12/10)
A review of Advanced Search in Alma to help choose between Alma or Alma Analytics for data retrieval. Includes moving from search results to acting on records, exporting the results of a search or list to Excel and saving queries to re-run as needed. (by Jennifer Koerber, 2019/12/05)
Learn different workflows to activate single title ebooks in Alma by creating local portfolios. Addresses cases in which a portfolio for an ebook is not available in the CZ, or not available from the desired vendor and interface. Presented by Alana Nuth (2019/12/04)
Step by step walk through of adding print books, serials, and gifts that are one time purchases and not standing orders. Part of the Acquisitions Short Course: Connecting the Dots: the Building Blocks of Acquisitions: 2-28-2019.