In this session of the New MD Editor Series users will learn to delete IZ only bib records, delete NZ linked bib records, unlink bib records from the NZ using "Copy to Catalog", and link records to the NZ using "Share with Network." Led by Maggie McGee (9/22/2020)
This session covers placement options, opening the form editor, viewing record information, adding local extension, remove local field, suppressing/unsuppressing a record, and releasing records. Led by, Maggie McGee (9/9/2020)
In this session we will go over the changes to the way OCLC now matches records that are set via Alma's publishing profiles to your OCLC bib datasync collection. It will also cover how to reduce the potential for incorrect matching. Led by Maggie McGee (9/1/2020)
Hour long training session where users will learn about the New MD Editor. Learn about "Always on", Switch to the New MD Editor, New Layout, Push to MDE, and Template Display Configuration. Led by Maggie McGee (8/25/2020)
Covered CDI best practices, link resolver vs. link in record collections, changes made by Ex Libris since we went live in May, and troubleshooting tips and tricks. Presented by Michelle Eichelberger (2020/08/20)
The session will go over the New Layout rollout plan, how to enable the New Layout in the Sandbox, navigating the New Alma Layout functionality and features, and how to access a sandbox for users/campuses who do not have access to a Sandbox. Led by Maggie McGee (2020/07/13)
In this session discusses how the "Subject" display norm rules are configured in Alma. How the "Subject" display norm rules impact discovery in PrimoVE. How the Subject display norm rules impact searching in PrimoVE. Led by Maggie McGee.
Reviewed how to configure discovery import profiles for commonly used external resources like LibGuides and DSpace, and looked at results from data harvested by the profile. Presented by Michelle Eichelberger (2020/02/26)
Reviewed how the Central Discovery Index (CDI) will work in your environment, what to look for in the Migration Report, best practices for e-resources management and testing, and known issues. Presented by the CDI Task Force members (2020/02/21)
Managing column style and format in Column Properties (Criteria tab) and the final look and feel of your report (Results tab), including how to change the number of decimal places in a field, repeating or not repeating data in rows, and adding Views to your reports (such as graphs). Presented by Wendi Ackerman (2020/02/18)
Review of the tools, platforms, and resources available to campuses to train staff on Alma/Primo VE, whether it's new staff, staff in new roles, or refreshers. Walk through the Alma/Primo training guides and learn a few guidelines for constructing meaningful technology hands-on training for staff (and how it's different than bibliographic or research instruction). Presented by Jennifer Koerber (2020/02/12)
Coverd how to search for specific types of e-resources in Alma using a repository search, the different terminology of search indexes related to e-resources and how to find packages shared by SUNY campuses. Presented by Alana Nuth (2020/02/12)
This session covered best practices for troubleshooting linking issues in Primo. Topics covered included how to find root causes that lead to linking problems, strategies to fix linking parameters to improve linking, and learn how proxy systems interact with Primo links. Presented by Michelle Eichelberger (2020/01/29)
In this session learn what indication rules are, why indication rules are used, how to write basics indication rule, and how to filter a set using a basic indication rule, led by Maggie McGee. (2020/01/24)
Setting up Local Holdings Records (LHR) Publishing Profiles in Alma by Maggie McGee (2020/01/09)
Please Note: since the recording OCLC clarified a setting in the LHR datasync collection. Slides 3,4, 22, & 54 have been update to reflect the changes. The Changes were made on slide 3 for e) & f). Instead of choosing No for e) Use Record Status for Processing, select Yes. When you select Yes, a new option will appear, for f) Remove Worldcat Holding When Final LHR Deleted, select Yes. This will allow the holdings to be removed when the final LHR has been deleted in Alma. Slide 4 has an updated image to show for the setting changes. The changes for slides 22 & 54 are regarding the OCLC translation mapping table. I edited the field description to match the holdings subfields in Alma and explain the second 852 $b if for the OCLC holding code if you want to have them display the location in your library in Worldcat.
Review of how to set up Reprints Desk to work as a link resolver, includes discussion of using Reprints Desk with Article Gateway in ILLiad. Presented by Shannon Pritting, Tim Jackson, and Michelle Eichelberger (2019/12/18)
Ordering eBooks in the IZ walks you through the workflow for how to handle eBooks that are not in the CZ, not in the correct electronic collection, or have very brief bibliographic information by Maggie McGee (2019/12/10)
A review of Advanced Search in Alma to help choose between Alma or Alma Analytics for data retrieval. Includes moving from search results to acting on records, exporting the results of a search or list to Excel and saving queries to re-run as needed. (by Jennifer Koerber, 2019/12/05)
Learn different workflows to activate single title ebooks in Alma by creating local portfolios. Addresses cases in which a portfolio for an ebook is not available in the CZ, or not available from the desired vendor and interface. Presented by Alana Nuth (2019/12/04)
Step by step walk through of adding print books, serials, and gifts that are one time purchases and not standing orders. Part of the Acquisitions Short Course: Connecting the Dots: the Building Blocks of Acquisitions: 2-28-2019.