Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SUNY OLIS logoSUNY Office of Library and Information Systems (OLIS) Home Page
 

Alma Electronic Resources Management

Working with and managing electronic resources in Alma.

Suppress the Bib Record for Electronic Collections and Databases

Ex Libris differentiates between "databases," which have no full-text content, and "electronic collections," which include electronic portfolios and full-text. The out of the box "database search" from the Primo VE header doesn't work well because of this distinction, and the Discovery Working has recommended deactivating this search and adding a link to your external A-Z database list instead, under Configure Views, Edit View, Links Menu tab.

If you would like to activate database type collections for acquisitions purposes, you may do that. It's recommended that you suppress that top-level bib record so that it doesn't appear in your Primo search, but if you would like them to show in Primo, just make sure that the collection level link is correct and uses your proxy. You could also suppress the database level bib and use Resource Recommender to call attention to databases by title.

Ex Libris Documentation:

 

SLS FAQs:

CZ Updates Task List

The CZ Updates Task List let's you know when changes have been made to any electronic collections that you've activated. This includes changes to metadata, updates to links, removal of content from a collection, or the removal of a collection from the CZ. It's important to monitor the CZ Updates Task List to prevent your patrons from losing access to content in Primo VE. The only way you'll know if a title or collection has been deactivated is if you keep an eye on the CZ Updates Task List, or if someone complains.

Using the CZ Updates Task List:

  • Make sure that you've got the Repository Manager role
  • Look in the Alma header under Resources->Manage Inventory
  • Don't have to check the list daily - weekly or monthly would be fine. You can set a calendar reminder.
  • Filter by the most important types of actions: Electronic collection deleted, portfolio deleted, and electronic service deleted.
  • When you see something that has been deleted, you will need to take action to reactivate it in a new collection, service, or portfolio.

Ex Libris Documentation:

 

SLS Training Videos:

Set up Automated eResource Holdings

The workflow described in this FAQ allows libraries to activate electronic collections with a resource type of selective package and automate the process to keep holdings up to date.