Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Alma Resource Management

Working with the Metadata Editor in the Institution and Network Zones. Includes indication and normalization rules.

Resource Management in Alma

Resource Management in Alma encompasses the following areas:

  1. Cataloging
  2. Holding record creation & maintenance
  3. Physical inventory creation & maintenance
  4. Electronic inventory activation & maintenance
  5. Imports
  6. Deposits

The Alma Resource Management Libguide will focus on workflows and processes related to physical inventory, such as:

  1. Cataloging
  2. Holding record creation & maintenance
  3. Physical inventory creation & maintenance
 

Resource Management Overview Materials

Roles

Required roles to perform basic Resource Management functionality:

  1. Cataloger - allows users to perform activities related to bibliographic and holdings records. Allows users to create/manage sets,and manage normalization rules. Ability to delete bib records when the last associated item is being deleted. 
  2. Cataloger extended - allows users to deleted bibliographic records in the MD Editor. It must be combined with the Cataloger role.
  3. Physical Inventory Operator - allows users to create and manage physical inventory. This role must be scope to a library to be used.
  4. Physical Inventory Operator Extended - allows users to delete items records and delete the bib record when the last item record is being withdrawn. It must be combined with the Physical Inventory Operator role

Additional Roles:

  1. Catalog Administrator Manages administrative aspects of catalog management, including cataloging configuration; can perform cataloging activities for bibliographic and holdings records, including adding and monitoring import/export processes and creating and managing sets. When deleting the last item associated with a bibliographic record, can also delete that bibliographic record. Can manage normalization rules.
  2. Catalog ManagerManages the institution's catalog records, including cataloging activities for bibliographic and holdings records, adding and monitoring import/export processes, and creating and managing sets. When deleting the last item associated with a bibliographic record, can also delete that bibliographic record. Can manage normalization rules.

Resource Management Vocabulary

Alma Term

Definition

Brief Level A record's brief level (01 to 10) reflects the amount and quality of bibliographic information. Brief level 10 is the highest level of bibliographic quality. Brief levels in the NZ match OCLC's encoding level (ELvl, LDR position 17).
Brief Record A brief record has an encoding level of 01. It contains the minimum amount of information to identify the resources. The minimum required fields for a brief record: 020/022/024, 100, 245, 250, 260/264).
Catalog The record repository of information in Alma. The catalog contains all descriptive metadata managed by a library, institution, consortium, or community. 
Database A type of electronic collection whose resources cannot be individually managed through an interface.
Electronic Collection A collection of electronic resources that can contain packages (which include electronic portfolios) or databases (which include URLs)
Electronic Resource A digital object that is stored and managed externally from the local library or Institution Zone. 
Full text service A service that provides the user with access to the full text of the e-resource. 
Import Profile An Alma feature defining how records from a file are imported, normalized, and mapped to Alma records.
Integration profile A mechanism for integrating the import and export processes between Alma and an external system.
Inventory The resources that are owned or licensed by or associated with a particular library, institution, or consortium. Incudes physical holdings and items, electronic portfolios, digital representations, and deposits. All descriptive bibliographic metadata resides in the repository and can be edited using the Metadata Management System (MMS).
Item The inventory level of a resource for fulfillment and usage. Items may include bar codes and other identification details.
Location A physical place where items are stored (for example, a shelving location). 
Management tag The record's brief level, as well as fields that determine whether to publish records to a discovery system or export the record. Publish and export fields can be set during record import or from within the Metadata editor.
MARC record Machine Readable Cataloging record. It is a standard record format for library cataloging information, including bibliographic, authority, and holding records.
Material type The type of material, such as a book or electronic journal collection, from which an item takes its form. 
Metadata editor The tool for editing and creating bibliographic and holdings records in Alma.
Metadata Management System ID (MMS ID)

The record ID number. There is a NZ MMS ID ending in 4801 and an institution MMS ID ending with the institutions 4-digit identifier. Bib records that are linked to the NZ have an IZ and a NZ MMS ID that can be found in MARC field 001 of the bib record.

Normalization Rules A set of rules that can be built and applied to bibliographic records in order to enhance the record. Normalization rule require a normalization process to apply a normalization rule to bibliographic records.

OCLC Number

OCLC control number to identify the bib record in Worldcat.
Portfolio (Electronic Portfolio) Electronic resource (inventory) that maintains the specific coverage (local or global), services, and link information relevant for a particular electronic title that may also be part of an electronic collection. 
Resource Type The type of item in the repository (based on existing bibliographic fields, such as the LDR and 008) or being ordered. A resource is physical, electronic, or digital, but may have a more specific type (not including its physical material type).